Steve Kuhn Trio & Joe Lovano - Mostly Coltrane (Music CD)

Release Date: 29 June 2009
£12.49 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

Available 2-3 extra days

Yet another in a line of John Coltrane tributes--Kurt Elling's 2009 DEDICATED TO YOU is another recent example--the pianist Steve Kuhn's MOSTLY COLTRANE has more of an authentic pedigree than most; he actually performed with the great saxophonist for a short period early in his career. Now, nearly 50 years later, Steve Kuhn himself is a jazz master, possessing an exquisite touch in the manner of Hank Jones. Not being a "modal" musician himself, he comes to Coltrane's music from the perspective of an elegant modernist. On MOSTLY COLTRANE, Kuhn is joined by his regular trio, which includes downtown drummer Joey Baron, and very special guest, tenor saxophonist Joe Lovano (who also recorded a fine album with Hank Jones, come to think of it). None of the tunes selected are all that famous--no "Naima" or "Giant Steps" or even "My Favorite Things". Rather, Kuhn has chosen lesser known Coltrane gems like "Central Park West" and "Crescent" as well as the standards "I Want To Talk About You", a Billy Eckstine tune which the saxophonist particularly favored, and "The Night Has A Thousand Eyes". This being a Manfred Eicher-produced ECM release, it goes without saying that the recording itself is superb.
Release Date: 29 June 2009

1. Welcome
2. Song of Praise
3. Crescent
4. I Want To Talk About You
5. Night Has a Thousand Eyes
6. Living Space
7. Central Park West
8. Like Sonny
9. With Gratitude
10. Configuration
11. Spiritual
12. Trance

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: 2701114