Emitt Rhodes - Emitt Rhodes Recordings 1969-1973, The (Music CD)

Release Date: 25 January 2010
Artist: Emitt Rhodes
£11.29 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

THE EMITT RHODES RECORDINGS 1969-1973 collects all four albums the singer/songwriter/musical wiz recorded over that period of time and adds one extra track (the 1973 single "Tame the Lion"). The set starts off with the album Rhodes recorded after his band, the Merry-Go-Round, broke up in 1969. The songs are a mix of newly written ones and Merry-Go-Round leftovers recorded with studio pros filling in for the band. But it is his actual debut, 1970's EMMITT RHODES, that is the best of the bunch; in fact, it is one of the best pop records of the '70s, and sounds like what would have happened had Paul McCartney saved up his most emotionally powerful and melodically rich post-Beatles' songs and recorded them with Badfinger as his backing band. Each song sounds like it should have been a hit single, from the heart-breakingly direct "Long Time No See" or the deceptively jubilant breakup song "With My Face on the Floor," to the anthemic George Harrison-esque "Live Till You Die" or the rollicking "Fresh as a Daisy." The pacing, sound, and feel of the record are as near perfect as you could hope, and the most impressive feat is that Rhodes did everything on the record himself.
His next album, 1971's MIRROR, repeats the same basic formula as EMITT RHODES but has fewer knockout songs, and there are some hard rock (on the title track) and blues (on "I'm a Cruiser") influences creeping in around the edges and scuffing up the perfect pop. By the time of FAREWELL TO PARADISE, though, the twin factors of pressure from the record company and Rhodes' increasing perfectionism led to his recording a melancholy, downhearted album that has far less pop and far more introspection in its soul. Hearing it in context of his previous work shows just how much Rhodes had begun to change, and it makes it even more of a loss that Rhodes basically walked away from his career at the age of 24. THE EMITT RHODES RECORDINGS 1969-1973 is essential to any fan of late-'60s/early-'70s pop music and hats off to Hip-O Select for giving Rhodes the attention he deserves.
Release Date: 25 January 2010
Artist: Emitt Rhodes

1. Mother Earth
2. Pardon Me
3. Textile Factory
4. Someone Died
5. Come Ride Come Ride
6. Let's All Sing
7. Holly Park
8. Saturday Night
9. You're a Very Lovely Woman
10. Mary Will You Take My Hand
11. Man He Was
12. In the Days of the Old
13. 'Til the Day After
14. With My Face On the Floor
15. Somebody Made For Me
16. She's Such a Beauty
17. Long Time No See
18. Lullabye
19. Fresh As a Daisy
20. Live till You Die
21. Promises I've Made
22. You Take the Dark Out of the Night
23. You Should Be Ashamed
24. Ever Find Yourself Running
25. You Must Have
26. Birthday Lady
27. Better Side of Life
28. My Love is Strong
29. Side We Seldom Show
30. Mirror
31. Really Wanted You
32. Medley Bubble Gum the Blues/I'm a Cruiser
33. Love Will Stone You
34. Golden Child of God
35. Take You Far Away
36. Warm Self-Sacrifice
37. See No Evil
38. Drawn To You
39. Blue Horizon
40. Shoot the Moon
41. Only Lovers Decide
42. Trust One More
43. Nights Are Lonely
44. Bad Man
45. In Desperate Need
46. Those That Die (Tame the Lion)
47. Farewell To Paradise
48. Tame the Lion

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: 2704273