Susan McKeown - Saints And Tzadiks (Music CD)

Release Date: 21 September 2009
£13.69 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

In a more intimate follow-up to McKeown's collaboration with the Klezmatics, the Irish singer does a duet album with one of their longtime members, Lorin Sklamberg. And what a joy it is. They kick things off on exactly the right note with "Heart's Blood," a ballad shared by both traditions, giving them the chance to trade verses in English and Yiddish. From there come songs in Gaelic, songs in Yiddish, and plenty of great beauty, whether accompanied by a small group or alone (Sklamberg does a wonderful unaccompanied "Father and Son," while McKeown performs the same for "Bridget"). It's a thrilling ride, often full of joy and laughter, as exemplified by "Yula," "The Rattlin' Bog," and "My Little Belly," but also capable of intense emotion ("The Dark Slender Boy"). While an Irish-Yiddish pairing might not seem too obvious, at least on first blush, these two have enough talent, taste, and openness to make it seem the most natural thing in the world -- but then, they've both been breaking down barriers for a long time now. ~ Chris Nickson
Release Date: 21 September 2009

1. Heart's Blood [Fort a Yidele Fort Aroys (A Young Man Rode Ou
2. Buenos Aires [Fin Mayn Mamelyu Hot Men Mikh Aroysgenimen (Th
3. Oakum [Se Oakum Mo Phrisoun (Oakum is My Prison)]
4. My Little Belly [Oy Mayn Baykhele Tut Mir Vey (Oh My Little
5. Prayer For the Dead [Johnny I Hardley Knew Ye] [Kh'bin Oysge
6. Hag With the Money [Taim in Arrears The (I'm in Arrears)] [C
7. Father and Son [Dayn Futers Reyd Her Tsi Mayn Kind (Hear Wha
8. Enniscorthy Fair
9. Bridget [Gabham Molta Bhride (Let Me Give Praise to Bridget)
10. Rattlin' Bog [Funem Sheynem Vortsl Aroys (From the Lovely Root] [The Rattlin' Bog])
11. Dark Slender Boy [An Buachaill Caol Dubh]
12. Yula [Ikh Vel Aykh Gebn Tsu Derklern (I Will Explain to You)

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: 468089