Sonny Rollins - On Impulse!/There Will Never Be Another You (Music CD)

Release Date: 10 October 2011
£6.09 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

This set combines two of Sonny Rollins' LPs for Impulse Records, There Will Never Be Another You and On Impulse!, both of which were originally issued in 1965. There Will Never Be Another You featured the saxophonist playing a live set (in the rain, apparently) with pianist Tommy Flanagan, bassist Bob Cranshaw, and Billy Higgins and Mickey Roker on drums. Rollins is in fine form, playing standards including a nearly 17-minute version of the title tune. He wanders off the microphone frequently, though, which is a problem, and it makes this otherwise very nice set less than essential. On Impulse! is a much stronger outing, with Rollins turning out signature takes of “On Green Dolphin Street” (there’s also a version of “On Green Dolphin Street” on There Will Never Be Another You, and “Three Little Words” also appears in both of these set lists) and “Hold ‘Em Joe,” and three other pieces with a solid quartet featuring pianist Ray Bryant, bassist Walter Booker, and drummer Mickey Roker. Combined, these two LPs show us where Rollins was in 1965. He had a restless soul, though, and bigger and more exploratory recordings were waiting around the corner. ~ Steve Leggett
Release Date: 10 October 2011

1. On Green Dolphin Street
2. Everything Happens to Me
3. Hold 'Em Joe
4. Blue Room
5. Three Little Words
6. On Green Dolphin Street
7. Three Little Words
8. Mademoiselle de Paris
9. To a Wild Rose
10. There Will Never Be Another You

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: 5334723