Miles Davis & Sonny Rollins - Classic Prestige Sessions 1951-1956, The (Music CD)

Release Date: 02 November 2009
£12.49 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

THE CLASSIC PRESTIGE SESSIONS 1951-1956 collects all of the sides recorded by trumpeter Miles Davis and tenor saxophonist Sonny Rollins for Prestige during their time together as young players in New York City. Both musicians were just past their formative years during this period, having broken free from the heavy sway of their bop elders--especially alto saxophonist Charlie Parker, who appears here in several classic cuts originally released on COLLECTOR'S ITEMS. Both Davis and Rollins were expanding the bop mold and beginning to discover their own sound. Davis had already made his mark with the innovative BIRTH OF THE COOL and was further developing his romantic, cerebral minimalism. Similarly, Rollins was quickly becoming the heir to Parker's throne as the most searching and muscular saxophonist on the scene. The dichotomy of their sounds made Davis and Rollins a perfect rub as jazz partners and these recordings helped foreshadow and define such future jazz movements as hard bop, post-bop, and even free jazz. Included here are such stellar and classic tracks as "Dig," "Oleo," "Down," "The Serpent's Tooth," "Airegin," "Doxy," and "Vierd Blues"." Although all of these recordings are available elsewhere on the original albums, Davis and Rollins' relationship was an incredibly fertile one and it is great to have all of it compiled together.
Release Date: 02 November 2009

1. Morpheus
2. Down
3. Blue Room [Take 1] (take)
4. Blue Room [Take 2] (take)
5. Whispering
6. I Know
7. Conception
8. Out of the Blue
9. Denial
10. Bluing
11. Dig
12. My Old Flame
13. It's Only A Paper Moon
14. Compulsion
15. Serpent's Tooth [Take 1] The (take)
16. Serpent's Tooth [Take 2] The (take)
17. 'Round Midnight
18. Airegin
19. Oleo
20. But Not For Me [Take 1] (take)
21. But Not For Me [Take 2] (take)
22. Doxy
23. In Your Own Sweet Way
24. No Line
25. Vierd Blues

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: 7231461