Various Artists - Rodgers & Hammerstein: Allegro (Music CD)

Release Date: 01 March 2010
£12.19 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

Between 1943 and 1951, Rodgers & Hammerstein wrote five Broadway musicals, four of which -- Oklahoma!, Carousel, South Pacific, and The King and I -- became huge hits with long runs, million-selling cast albums, movie adaptations (with million-selling soundtrack albums), and frequent revivals. The fifth show, which curiously came right in the middle, was Allegro (1947), a flop that was nearly forgotten, preserved only on a 33-minute cast album. The Rodgers and Hammerstein Organization, which administers the songwriters' properties, has an obvious interest in promoting their works, and it is behind this years-in-the-making all-star two-CD studio cast album of Allegro, billed as the "first complete recording." Ted Chapin, president and executive director of the organization, served as a co-producer and annotator on a project that had no deadline, but apparently did have certain budget constraints. The producers first went to Eastern Europe (where it's cheaper to hire musicians) to have the Istropolis Philharmonic Orchestra record the instrumental score, then, over a period of two years, waited out the schedules of a dream cast of Tony Award-winning actors and actresses to overdub their parts one by one. That's a far cry from the single day usually mandated by Actors Equity for the cast of Broadway musical to get together in a recording studio and make a cast album.
Allegro, remembered as Rodgers & Hammerstein's most experimental work, has a plot so simple and familiar as to be mundane. Running from 1905 to 1940, it follows the life of a country doctor, Joseph Taylor, Jr. (Patrick Wilson), from birth to middle age, as he marries, leaves his small town for a big city and, after becoming disillusioned, leaves his ambitious, unfaithful wife and returns home. Oscar Hammerstein II, whose original libretto was not based on any earlier source, had told similar kinds of stories in such musicals as Show Boat and Music in the Air. His intention, imperfectly expressed, was not simply to illustrate the old adage that power corrupts, but to point out that the trappings of success can distract a person from the work that produced the success in the first place. It's a subtle and hardly universal problem, and it's easy to see how Hammerstein's point might have been missed, especially because the form of Allegro was so unusual. The innovative staging aspects are not apparent on any recording, but the score is also out of the ordinary, relying heavily on choral parts to tell the story, with the main character given relatively little to do (the major singing parts go to the doctor's mother, played by Audra McDonald, his grandmother, played by Marni Nixon, and his wife, played by Laura Benanti) and some of the major songs given to minor characters (notably the one song that successfully emerged from the score, "The Gentleman Is a Dope," sung by Liz Callaway, and "So Far," later interpolated into the 1995 stage version of the 1945 movie musical State Fair, sung by Judy Kuhn).
In his liner notes, Chapin says that he wanted "to see if we could experience Allegro in a form that would show what it was, so we could judge for ourselves...whether it deserves attention." That intention is satisfied by the recording, which may give the score its best possible reading. Certainly, McDonald, in such songs as "A Fellow Needs a Girl" and "Come Home," and Wilson, singing "You Are Never Away," provoke a reconsideration of a score that has obvious echoes of its immediate predecessors, Carousel and State Fair. (It also recalls some of Rodgers' work with his previous collaborator, Lorenz Hart, not only because of the interpolation of their song "Mountain Greenery" in a 1920s dance sequence, but also because of the similarity of the title song to "Johnny One-Note.") But Allegro's music often sounds like retreads of those predecessors, and the heavy use of the chorus makes the story self-consciously literary; its failure as a theatrical work doesn't seem surprising, given that it often comes off less as a musical theater work than as a 100-minute cantata. So, this studio cast recording doesn't seem likely to breed a rash of regional productions or a Broadway revival. But it does bring back, for fans of musicals, some worthy music by one of Broadway's greatest songwriting teams, most of it barely heard in the 60 years since the original production closed. (To voice the many brief spoken parts, the producers have done some surprising stunt casting, including the theater critics John Simon and Howard Kissel; Hammerstein's prot?g? Stephen Sondheim, who, as a teenager, was an assistant on the 1947 production; and even Hammerstein himself, by way of a Dictaphone recording.) ~ William Ruhlmann
Release Date: 01 March 2010

1. Overture
2. Opening
3. I Know It Can Happen Again
4. Pudgy Legs
5. One Foot Other Foot (dialogue)
6. One Foot Other Foot
7. Children's Dance
8. Grandmother's Death
9. Winter's Go By
10. Poor Joe (dialogue)
11. Poor Joe
12. Diploma
13. Fellow Needs A Girl, A
14. Freshman Get Together
15. Dream Sequence
16. Pas De Deux
17. End Of College Dance
18. Wildcats
19. Jennie Reads Letter
20. Scene Of Professors
21. So Far
22. You Are Never Away
23. You Are Never Away (encore)
24. Poor Joe (reprise/dialogue)
25. Poor Joe (reprise)
26. Marjorie's Death
27. What A Lovely Day For A Wedding
28. It May Be A Good Idea
29. Finale (act 1)
30. Entr'acte
31. Opening Act II
32. Money Isn't Everything
33. Money Isn't Everything (dance)
34. Poor Joe (reprise/dialogue)
35. Poor Joe (reprise)
36. You Are Never Away (reprise/dialogue)
37. Fellow Needs A Girl, A (reprise)
38. Yatata
39. Gentleman Is A Dope, The
40. Allegro (dialogue)
41. Allegro
42. Allegro (ballet)
43. Come Home
44. Finale Ultimo

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: 88697417382