The Byrds - There Is a Season (4 CD Box Set) (Music CD)

Release Date: 12 September 2011
Artist: The Byrds
£16.09 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £2.19
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £2.99
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £2.99
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £3.99
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £3.99
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £4.99
Others - £6.99
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

As there was a four-CD box set of the Byrds back in 1990, the point of putting out another four-CD Byrds box set about 15 years later wasn't all that clear, unless it was a mercenary exercise to get more mileage of the band's durable catalog. Yet appear this 2006 box set did, with many of the same tracks that had appeared on the 1990 Byrds box set, though there are some appreciable differences. The span of There Is a Season is a little wider, taking in some of the demos they recorded prior to the "Mr. Tambourine Man" single, and also fitting in a couple of Gene Clark songs from their 1973 reunion album. While all the hit singles and most of the group's most popular album tracks are on both sets, the secondary songs filling out the boxes vary, with There Is a Season putting out some material that wasn't officially issued until after the 1990 box set (on expanded CD editions of their albums and Live at the Fillmore West February 1969). Conversely, the earlier box set has some LP cuts and obscurities that failed to make the cut for There Is a Season.
Of course, There Is a Season does contain a lot of significant, and often great, folk-rock music; no package with 99 Byrds songs could fail to do that. As for what it offers the serious Byrds collector -- who's probably at least as apt to consider buying this as a general Byrds fan -- there isn't all that much. There are five previously unissued tracks, none of them extraordinary, including a 1967 Swedish radio version of "He Was a Friend of Mine," a couple live September 1970 Fillmore East performances, and a couple live cuts from February 1970. There are oddities from soundtracks and live compilation albums, including the Candy soundtrack version of "Child of the Universe," "Nothin' to It" (done by the Byrds on the early-'70s album Earl Scruggs: His Family and Friends), and a couple live 1973 performances from the Banjoman movie. It's well-sequenced enough that it does give a solid sense of the band's growth and accomplishment through their folk-rock, psychedelic, and country-rock phases, though there's no getting around the fact that it starts to get steadily less exciting after it passes the halfway point.
The big added attraction on There Is a Season is not on the CDs, but on the bonus DVD disc, which contains ten TV clips of the group from 1965-1967. All of these, mind you, are mimed and not live, but it's still a fun (if brief, lasting just 26 minutes) assortment of glimpses of the band in their most creative era on U.S., U.K., and Swedish programs. Even here, however, there could have been room for improvement, as there's some more interesting footage of the Byrds from this era, including their live set in the mid-'60s movie The Big TNT Show and versions of "Long Tall Sally" and "Not Fade Away" (neither of which they released on record in any form). Is this nitpicking? Probably. But if you're going to lay out more than 50 dollars for an anthology that likely contains some or much material you already own, you have the right to make the point. ~ Richie Unterberger
Release Date: 12 September 2011
Artist: The Byrds
  • Disk 1
  • 1. The Only Girl I Adore
  • 2. Please Let Me Love You
  • 3. Don't Be Long
  • 4. The Airport Song
  • 5. You Movin'
  • 6. You Showed Me
  • 7. Mr. Tambourine Man
  • 8. I'll Feel a Whole Lot Better
  • 9. You Won't Have to Cry
  • 10. Here Without You
  • 11. The Bells of Rhymney
  • 12. All I Really Want to Do (Single Version)
  • 13. I Knew I'd Want You
  • 14. Chimes of Freedom
  • 15. She Has a Way
  • 16. It's All over Now, Baby Blue (Version One)
  • 17. Turn! Turn! Turn! (To Everything There Is a Season)
  • 18. It Won't Be Wrong
  • 19. Set You Free This Time
  • 20. The World Turns All Around Her
  • 21. The Day Walk (Never Before)
  • 22. If You're Gone
  • 23. The Times They Are a-Changin'
  • 24. She Don't Care About Time (Single Verson/Version)
  • 25. Stranger in a Strange Land (Instrumental)
  • Disk 2
  • 1. Eight Miles High
  • 2. Why (Single Version)
  • 3. 5D (Fifth Dimension)
  • 4. Wild Mountain Thyme
  • 5. Mr. Spaceman
  • 6. I See You
  • 7. What's Happening?
  • 8. I Know My Rider
  • 9. So You Want to Be a Rock 'n' Roll Star (Mono)
  • 10. Have You Seen Her Face (Mono)
  • 11. Renaissance Fair (Single Version Mono)
  • 12. Time Between (Mono)
  • 13. Everybody's Been Burned (Single Version Mono)
  • 14. My Back Pages (Mono)
  • 15. It Happens Each Day
  • 16. He Was a Friend Of Mine (Live)
  • 17. Lady Friend (Single Version)
  • 18. Old John Robertson (Single Version)
  • 19. Goin' Back
  • 20. Draft Morning
  • 21. Wasn't Born to Follow
  • 22. Tribal Gathering
  • 23. Dolphin's Smile
  • 24. Triad
  • 25. Universal Mind Decoder
  • Disk 3
  • 1. You Ain't Goin' Nowhere
  • 2. I Am a Pilgrim
  • 3. The Christian Life
  • 4. You Don't Miss Your Water
  • 5. Hickory Wind
  • 6. One Hundred Years from Now
  • 7. Lazy Days (Alt. Version)
  • 8. Pretty Polly (Alt. Version)
  • 9. This Wheel's on Fire (Version One)
  • 10. Drug Store Truck Drivin' Man
  • 11. Candy
  • 12. Child of the Universe (Soundtrack Version Vinyl Source)
  • 13. Pretty Boy Floyd (Live)
  • 14. Buckaroo (Live)
  • 15. King Apathy III (Live)
  • 16. Sing Me back Home (Live)
  • 17. Lay Lady Lay
  • 18. Oil in My Lamp
  • 19. Tulsa County
  • 20. Jesus Is Just Alright
  • 21. Chestnut Mare
  • 22. Just a Season
  • 23. Kathleen's Song
  • 24. All the Things
  • Disk 4
  • 1. Lover of the Bayou (Live)
  • 2. Positively 4th Street (Live)
  • 3. Old Blue (Live)
  • 4. It's Alright Ma (I'm Only Bleeding) (Live)
  • 5. Ballad of Easy Rider (Live)
  • 6. You All Look Alike (Live)
  • 7. Nashville West (Live)
  • 8. Willin' (Live)
  • 9. Black Mountain Rag (Soldier's Joy) (Live)
  • 10. Baby What You Want Me to Do (Live)
  • 11. I Trust (Live)
  • 12. Take a Whiff on Me (Live)
  • 13. Glory, Glory
  • 14. Byrdgrass
  • 15. Pale Blue
  • 16. I Wanna Grow up to Be a Politician
  • 17. Nothin' to It
  • 18. Tiffany Queen
  • 19. Farther Along
  • 20. Bugler
  • 21. Mr. Tambourine Man (Live)
  • 22. Roll over Beethoven (Live)
  • 23. Full Circle
  • 24. Changing Heart
  • 25. Paths of Victory
  • Disk 5
  • 1. Mr. Tambourine Man (Video DVD)
  • 2. I'll Feel a Whole Lot Better (Video DVD)
  • 3. All I Really Want to Do (Video DVD)
  • 4. Turn! Turn! Turn! (To Everything There Is a Season) (Video DVD)
  • 5. It Won't Be Wrong (Video DVD)
  • 6. Set You Free This Time (Video DVD)
  • 7. So You Want to Be a Rock 'n' Roll Star (Mono Video DVD)
  • 8. Mr. Tambourine Man (Video DVD)
  • 9. Eight Miles High (Video DVD)
  • 10. Mr. Spaceman (Video DVD)

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: 88697921472