Dave Brubeck - Essential Dave Brubeck (Music CD)

Release Date: 10 October 2011
Artist: Dave Brubeck
£6.19 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

Available 2-3 extra days

It's hard to summarize the highlights of a career as long and prolific as Dave Brubeck's in a two-CD compilation. If you're going to settle for that, however, The Essential Dave Brubeck is a good job, spanning 1949 to 2002, with 76 minutes of music on each disc. Although a few of these tracks were drawn from his early Fantasy recordings and his later Concord/MusicMasters/Telarc discs, the overwhelming bulk of them come from his days at Columbia from the mid-'50s through the late '60s. "Take Five" is here, of course, as are some of his better- known recordings, like "Blue Rondo a La Turk," "Take the 'A' Train" (a live 1954 performance), "Audrey," and "Some Day My Prince Will Come" (from the Dave Digs Disney album). Overall it spotlights the pianist in a variety of settings -- live, solo piano ("In Your Sweet Way" and "Weep No More," from Brubeck Plays Brubeck); interpreting West Side Story; bopping, balladeering, bossa nova, with strings; or backing vocalists Louis Armstrong, Carmen McRae, Jimmy Rushing, and Tony Bennett. In fact, no less than a couple dozen albums are sampled over the course of the 31 discs, making this an admirably wide-ranging sampler of Brubeck's work, focusing on his earlier and most important efforts. ~ Richie Unterberger
Release Date: 10 October 2011
Artist: Dave Brubeck
  • Disk 1
  • 1. Indiana
  • 2. Perdido
  • 3. Take the "A" Train
  • 4. Le Souk
  • 5. Audrey
  • 6. The Duke
  • 7. In Your Own Sweet Way
  • 8. Weep No More
  • 9. Some Day My Prince Will Come
  • 10. Tangerine
  • 11. Brandenburg Gate
  • 12. Three to Get Ready
  • 13. Blue Rondo à la Turk
  • 14. There'll Be Some Changes Made
  • Disk 2
  • 1. Take Five
  • 2. Maria
  • 3. It's a Raggy Waltz
  • 4. Unsquare Dance
  • 5. Kathy's Waltz
  • 6. Travelin' Blues
  • 7. Summer Song
  • 8. That Old Black Magic
  • 9. Bossa Nova U.S.A.
  • 10. Autumn in Washington Square
  • 11. Theme from "Mr. Broadway"
  • 12. La Paloma Azul
  • 13. Recuerdo
  • 14. Caravan
  • 15. Star Dust
  • 16. Brother, Can You Spare a Dime?
  • 17. Love for Sale

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: 88697968722