Land Of Promise - The British Documentary Movement 1930-1950

Release Date: 15 November 2010 | Certificate: To Be Announced
£27.09 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £2.19
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £2.99
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £2.99
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £3.99
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £3.99
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £4.99
Others - £6.99
Falkland Islands

RRP £29.99

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

LAND OF PROMISE is a diverse collection of documentary films that capture the zeitgeist of Britain during the Second World War. Some are classics, others are lesser-known but no less influential. Disc 1: INDUSTRIAL BRITAIN (1931, Robert Flaherty), SHIPYARD (1935, Paul Rotha), WORKERS AND JOBS (1935, Arthur Elton), HOUSING PROBLEMS (1935, Arthur Elton, Edgar Anstey), PEOPLE OF BRITAIN (1936, Paul Rotha), CHILDREN AT SCHOOL (1937, Basil Wright), FAREWELL TOPSAILS (1937, Humphrey Jennings), TODAY WE LIVE (1937, Ruby Grierson, Ralph Bond), EASTERN VALLEY (1937, Paul Rotha, Donald Alexander), PEOPLE OF BRITAIN (1936, Paul Rotha), IF WAR SHOULD COME (GPO, 1939) Disc 2: BRITAIN AT BAY (1940, Harry Watt), TRANSFER OF SKILL (1940, Geoffrey Bell), THEY ALSO SERVE (1940, Ruby Grierson), TOMORROW IS THEIRS (1940, James Carr), WORDS FOR BATTLE (1941, Humphrey Jennings), ORDINARY PEOPLE (1941, Jack Lee, J.B. Holmes), FIVE AND UNDER (1941, Donald Alexander), NIGHT SHIFT (1942, J.D. Chambers), THE COUNTRYWOMAN (1942, John Page), SUMMER ON THE FARM (1943, Ralph Keene), LISTEN TO BRITAIN (1942, Humphrey Jennings, Stewart McAllister), BUILDERS (1942, Pat Jackson), WORDS AND ACTIONS (1943, Max Anderson), A DIARY FOR TIMOTHY (1946, Humphrey Jennings) Disc 3: LAND OF PROMISE (1946, Paul Rotha), THE BALANCE (1946, Paul Rotha), WHAT A LIFE! (1947, Law), THE DIM LITTLE ISLAND (1948, Jennings), BRITAIN CAN MAKE IT NO 1 (1946, Francis Gysin), FENLANDS (1945, Ken Annakin), CHILDREN'S CHARTER (1945, Gerard Bryant), CHASING THE BLUES (1947, Chambers, Ellitt), COTTON COME BACK (1946, Donald Alexander), FIVE TOWNS (1947, Bishop) Disc 4: A PLAN TO WORK ON (1948, Mander), MINING REVIEW 2ND YEAR NO 11 (1949, Pickering), FROM THE GROUND UP (1950, CFU), TRANSPORT (1950, Bradford), THE UNDEFEATED (1950, Dickson), FAMILY PORTRAIT (1950, Jennings).
Release Date: 15 November 2010
Certificate: TBA - To Be Announced

Region 0
Sound: Dolby Digital
Production Year: 1930
Main Language: English

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: BFIVD911