Shirelles (The) - Foolish Little Girl/It's A Mad Mad Mad Mad World (Music CD)

Release Date: 15 June 2009
£11.49 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

Available 2-3 extra days

The Shirelles' fifth and sixth albums are combined onto one CD with this 2009 reissue, with the addition of historical liner notes. In keeping with the rest of Ace's extensive series of Shirelles two-fers, it's the kind of thing where the best tracks have long been cherrypicked for numerous Shirelles compilations, which are by far the best way for most fans to hear the group. As 1963 LPs went, however, they weren't bad, even if certain tracks stuck out as by far the best of the lot. On the first of these records to be issued that year, FOOLISH LITTLE GIRL, the undisputed highlight, is the great and fetching title track, their last big hit. The rest of the LP contained an erratic mix of quick-paced, R&B-inclined tunes and generally more satisfying slower pop/rockers. In retrospect, the Shirelles might have been starting to flounder a little stylistically with the subsequent IT'S A MAD, MAD, MAD, MAD WORLD, starting with the showbizzy title track (intended but not used as the theme for the hit movie of the same name), which nonetheless has some goofy charm. The album largely consists of decent to fair late-era girl group-styled tunes, with an occasional dance-party-themed bag throw in.
Release Date: 15 June 2009

1. Foolish Little Girl
2. Hard Times
3. Abra Ka Dabra
4. What's The Matter Baby
5. I Didn't Mean To Hurt You
6. Ooh Poo Pah Doo
7. Don't Say Goodnight And Mean Goodbye
8. Not For All The Money In The World
9. Only Time Will Tell
10. I Don't Think So
11. Talk Is Cheap
12. Twitch, The
13. It's A Mad Mad Mad Mad World
14. Music Goes Round And Round, The
15. Jive Is The Thing
16. Love On The Moon
17. You Satisfy My Soul
18. 20th Century Rock 'n' Roll
19. Zip A Dee Doo Dah
20. Everybody's Going Mad
21. Boys
22. Around The World
23. 31 Flavors

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: CDCHD1227