Various Artists - Bill Haney's Atlanta Southern Soul Brothers Vol.1 (Music CD)

Release Date: 28 March 2011
£11.49 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

Bill Haney was an all-around entrepreneur -- producer, label owner, occasional songwriter -- whose Down South Productions generated a bunch of soul recordings in the 1960s and early '70s. Some were released on his own Chant label, some were leased to other companies, and some were unreleased. This 24-song compilation combines all of the above categories; indeed, half of it was previously unreissued. It's acceptable period Southern soul, varying from sweet romantic stuff to gritty son-of-Otis Redding-or-James Brown tunes, but it doesn't stand up to even the better unknown soul of the era. The only names familiar to general fans are Dee Clark, Roy Hamilton, and Arthur Alexander, all represented by unreleased songs, none recorded when the artists were at their peaks; Alexander's tune, "You Better Listen to Me," is nice but way too derivative of his famous "You Better Move On." The same lack of originality afflicts even the better cuts on this collection. Jarvis Jackson's "Something I Ain't Never Had," for instance, is a cop (and a rather good one) of the style Otis Redding used on "I've Been Loving You Too Long," and Stax-y riffs also surface on things like the Dino & Doc male-female duets. A less clich‚d source was plundered for Charlie Thomas' "Don't Let Me Know," whose melody is uncomfortably similar to Gerry & the Pacemakers' "Don't Let the Sun Catch You Crying." ~ Richie Unterberger
Release Date: 28 March 2011

1. I'm A Dreamer - Wilburn, Bobby
2. Something Wrong With Our Love - Graham, Joe
3. I've Been Blessed By Your Love - Christian, Al
4. Got My Plans Squared Away - Walker, Randolph
5. You Better Listen To Me - Alexander, Arthur
6. Pride And Soul - Allen, Gary
7. Something I Ain't Never Had - Jackson, Jarvis
8. Come Back Son - Woodard, Jerry
9. Like The Wind - Clark, Dee
10. Don't Let Me Know - Thomas, Charlie
11. Who Are You Fooling - Graham, Joe
12. Frozen Love - Meadows, Gay
13. Sweet Sweet Woman - Woodard, Jerry
14. I Know - Dino & Doc
15. Workin' On A New Love - Marlin, Matt
16. I'm Not Your Steppin' Stone - Graham, Joe
17. Achin' All Over - Walker, Randolph
18. What You Don't Know - Jackson, Jarvis
19. You Got Love - Five Jays
20. Nothing's Going To Change The Way I Feel - Five Jays
21. Hurt Girl - Dino & Doc
22. Do Me Wrong - Walker, Randolph
23. My Peaceful Forest - Hamilton, Roy

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: CDKEND159