David "Fathead" Newman - Soulful Mr. Newman (Music CD)

Release Date: 24 October 2011
£20.59 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £2.19
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £2.99
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £2.99
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £3.99
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £3.99
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £4.99
Others - £6.99
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

The 2011 three-disc anthology The Soulful Mr. Newman compiles tracks from all of saxophonist David "Fathead" Newman's Highnote recordings beginning with 1999's Chillin' through 2009's The Blessing. A swinging, bluesy, and accomplished jazz saxophonist, Newman was a legend by the time he signed with Highnote in the late '90s. For the last ten years of his life -- he died from pancreatic cancer in 2009 -- Newman was showcased by the label, releasing a handful of stellar, straight-ahead, acoustic jazz albums. Not surprisingly, these albums also featured a bevy of stellar backing musicians, including such names as pianists Cedar Walton and John Hicks, drummers Winard Harper and Peter Washington, and trombonists Curtis Fuller and Steve Turre, among others. From blues to standards and Latin numbers, this is passionate, urbane, and swinging acoustic jazz in small- and large-group settings that perfectly frame Newman's fluid style. ~ Matt Collar
Release Date: 24 October 2011

1. Song for the New Man
2. Them That Got (I Ain't Got Nothing Yet)
3. Willow Weep for Me
4. Unspeakable Times
5. Lonesome Head
6. Naima
7. Pharoah's Gold
8. Asia Beat
9. Georgia on My Mind
10. Shakabu
11. The Blessing
12. It Had to Be You
13. New York State of Mind
14. Little Sonny's Tune
15. Goldfinger
16. Autumn in New York
17. As Time Goes By
18. Keep the Spirits Singing
19. Unchain My Heart
20. My Full House
21. Freedom Jazz Dance
22. Chelsea Bridge
23. Invitation
24. Amandla
25. SKJ
26. Drown in My Tears
27. Suki Duki
28. What a Wonderful World

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: HCD7230