Various Artists - Panorama Bar Vol.1 (Mixed By Cassy) (Music CD)

Release Date: 01 March 2010
£10.99 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

The Ostgut label's second mix album, following Andr‚ Galluzzi's Berghain 01, mirrors the strains of house music spun by Cassy at Berlin's Panorama Bar. Outside Berlin, Cassy has been known more for her spooky vocal contributions to tracks by Ricardo Villalobos ("Miami," "True to Myself"), Lucien-N-Luciano ("La Ondita"), and Luciano & Mathew Jonson ("Alpine Rocket"), as well as her own scattered production work (the excellent Perlon-released "Night to Remember," a highlight of Tobi Neumann's Fliederlieder) and remixes (Villalobos' "Easy Lee"). Panorama Bar 01 makes evident her considerable worth behind the decks. In this case, we are definitely talking about decks, not software; she put this together with a set of turntables and a mixer. Most of the tracks selected are fresh from late 2005 and the first half of 2006, while DBX's 13-year-old "Bleep" is inserted skillfully while (perhaps) unwittingly illustrating the stark contrast between what was labeled "minimal" then and what is labeled the same now. Granted, no inclusion within this 24-track program could be accused of being suffocating or as bold as a Euro-dance hit. Cassy keeps it stripped down and subtle, and it's not at the expense of pleasurable (if nuanced) sounds. The set-up allows plenty of space for the mostly unheralded deep house out of Detroit -- including Rick Wade and a Dwayne Jensen track remixed by Norm Talley -- and the techno-/micro-/minimal house centralized in Germany, two styles that rarely coexist in club sets, let alone on commercially released mixes. There's also a handful of expansive, richly shaped contributions from the eternal underdogs at Amsterdam's Delsin and Berlin's Styrax, labels that deliver melodic Motor City techno updates by D5 and Redshape. Nothing is excessive or strictly functional. It's all wonderfully efficient from a dancefloor perspective and worthy of many depth-revealing listens. If nothing else, the disc will hopefully telegraph to casual clubbers and dance music neophytes that Cassy is one of several female DJ-producers -- along with Anja Schneider, Magda, Ada, and M.I.A., to name a few -- deserving of as much attention as Ellen Allien, who seems to be the only woman within this sphere to get an appropriate amount of attention. ~ Andy Kellman
Release Date: 01 March 2010

1. Blood On My Hands - Shackleton
2. Believe (Norm Talley beatdown mix) - Jensen, Dwayne & Miyon
3. Sides Of Space - D5
4. Let's Go Deep - Melchior Productions
5. Below Houston - Tobias
6. Night Station - Wade, Rick
7. Sieso - Villalobos, Ricardo
8. Clara Ghavami Extended - NSI
9. Channel B - Mono Junk
10. MLTD - V/A
11. What Turned Itself - Auto-Repeat
12. Dial - Tobias
13. City On The Edge Of Forever - DBX
14. Sugarspoon - Baby Ford & Ifach Collective
15. Bleepy Creep (Cassy mix) - Yassin & Ame
16. Kolmas - 0
17. Pentaton - Kaden, Mathias
18. Bleep - DBX
19. Pink Dust - Redshape
20. Toyah - Cassy
21. Dust - Redshape
22. Well Done (033472 edit) - Shed
23. Gluehwuermchen (Cassy mix) - Liebe Ist Cool
24. Touch - DJ Abstract

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: OSTGUTCD2