Status Quo - Quid Pro Quo (Music CD)

Release Date: 28 November 2011
Artist: Status Quo
£8.59 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

Returning from their longest gap between albums in their 43-year history, Status Quo appear to have spent the time away reacquainting themselves with the heavier sound of their '70s heyday, judging by their 29th studio release Quid Pro Quo. The follow-up to 2007's In Search of the Fourth Chord is still quintessentially Status Quo, with the jaunty boogie shuffle of "Rock N Roll N You," the no-nonsense driving rock of "The Winner," and the guitar chugging "Let's Rock," whose "I like it, I like it" lyrics are unashamedly similar to those of "Rockin' All Over the World," doing little to suggest the band has found what its predecessor was also looking for. However, the alleged inspiration for Spinal Tap do seem to have discovered the "dial eleven," as the majority of its 15 tracks ramp up the heavy rock riffs, extend the guitar solos, and quicken the tempo to produce a back-to-basics affair which might go some way in appeasing any loyal fans dismayed by their recent, woeful collaboration with German techno outfit Scooter. Opening track "Two-Way Traffic" bursts out of the blocks with its thunderous Motörhead-esque hooks and head-banging rhythms; "Movin On" is an unashamedly retro slice of frantically paced vintage rock & roll, while there are nods to '60s psychedelica on the acid rock guitars of "Dust to Gold"; '70s prog rock on the quirky synths of "Can't See for Looking," and '80s hair metal with the showboating solos of "Frozen Hero." But other than the Parfitt-sung slow blues of "Reality Cheque" and the toe-tapping, country-fused "Anyway You Like It" co-written with hardcore fan Alan Crook, the album never really deviates from its blistering barroom rock formula, while the pro-army lyrical changes made to the unnecessary retread of 1986 hit "In the Army Now" slightly betray the original's anti-war sentiment. The Quo may be well into their sixties, but Quid Pro Quo sees them perhaps more reinvigorated than they have been since they were half that age, and while it resolutely sticks to what they know best, it's not as one-dimensional as their three-chord reputation suggests. ~ Jon O'Brien
Release Date: 28 November 2011
Artist: Status Quo

1. Two Way Traffic
2. Rock 'n' Roll 'n' You
3. Dust To Gold
4. Let's Rock
5. Can't See for Looking
6. Better Than That
7. Movin' On
8. Leave a Little Light On
9. Any Way You Like It
10. Frozen Hero
11. Reality Cheque
12. The Winner
13. It's All About You
14. My Old Ways
15. Whatever You Want
16. Down Down
17. Don't Drive My Car
18. Hold You Back
19. Pictures of Matchstick Men
20. Ice In the Sun
21. Beginning of the End
22. Roll Over Lay Down
23. Caroline
24. Rocking All Over the World
25. Paper Plane
26. Softer Ride

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: QUOCD002