Popol Vuh - Revisited & Remixed 1970-1999 (Music CD)

Release Date: 27 June 2011
Artist: Popol Vuh
£11.79 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

Available 2-3 extra days

Popol Vuh were one of the first Krautrock bands to turn their focus -- thanks to their late founder, lone constant member, and musical director, Florian Fricke -- to ambient music (a full half-decade before Eno called it that) and ethnic fusions of various sorts. They released almost two dozen albums, scored a handful of films by Werner Herzog -- including Nosferatu and Aguirre, Wrath of God -- and continually experimented with form, tone, context, and format. A decade after Fricke's death, the German SPV imprint celebrates his legacy with this double-disc set. The first features a smattering of Popol Vuh tunes from throughout their tenure. It makes for compelling listening despite an apparent paradox: Fricke and company conceived of recordings as albums (as well as scores), so hearing tracks placed outside that context would -- theoretically at least -- be an erratic listening exercise. It's not. In fact, it's sequenced beautifully. The second disc pays tribute to Popol Vuh via a set of remixes by a wide assortment of producers and DJs. These include Peter Kruder's slow, ambient dub re-creation of "Aguirre I/II [Lacrima Di Rei Edit]" and Moritz von Oswald's reworking of "G�rten Pharaos [Dark Development Edit]" from the same soundtrack. Oswald's version features throbbing percussion in the lower registers with genuinely subtle vocal effects and a high-pitched synth jabbing in and out of the mix seemingly at random. Elsewhere, Stereolab remix "Hosianna Mantra," keeping the chorus and original instrumentation before injecting a guitar that eventually takes the proceedings over. Other participants include Mouse on Mars, A Critical Mass, Thomas Fehlmann, Haswell & Hecker, Miko Vainio, Alex Barck, and Roland Appel. Usually, remix projects like this one are very mixed bags in terms of quality. That said, perhaps due to the open-ended nature of Fricke's and Popol Vuh's source material, this set is very consistent. The collection also includes liner notes by Fricke contemporary and friend Klaus Schulze. ~ Thom Jurek
Release Date: 27 June 2011
Artist: Popol Vuh

1. Aguirre I Lacrima di Rei (From Aguirre)
2. Affenstunde
3. In den G?rten Pharaos
4. Ich Mache Einen Spiegel
5. Nachts Schnee (From Cobra Verde)
6. Eine Andere Welt (From Cobra Verde)
7. In Your Eyes
8. Train Through Time
9. Nascita
10. Br?der des Schattens (From Nosferatu)
11. Through Pain to Heaven (From Nosferatu)
12. Kailash: Last Village
13. Aguirre I/II (Lacrima Di Rei Edit Peter Kruder Remix)
14. Schnee (Flow Edit Thomas Fehlmann Flow Mix/Remix)
15. Heart of Glass (Sei Still Wisse Ich Bin Edit A Critical Mass Remix)
16. Haram Dei Haram Dei (ProgRock Edit Alex Barck Remix)
17. Through Pain to Heaven/Kyrie (Edit Roland Appel Remix)
18. Nachts Schnee (Ambient Edit Mika Vainio Remix)
19. G?rten Pharaos (Dark Development Edit Moritz Von Oswald Remix)
20. Through Pain to Heaven/Dopeful Vuh (Edit Mouse On Mars Remix)
21. Hosianna Mantra (Lyric Edit Stereolab Remix)
22. Aguirre I/II (Endless Edit Haswell & Hecker Remix)
23. Train Through Time (Long Version)

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: SPV70442