Adam Kolker - Reflections (Music CD)

Release Date: 05 December 2011
Artist: Adam Kolker
£13.09 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

Adam Kolker has proven himself with a number of introspective recordings during his career, and Reflections continues in that mode. Starting with a fresh look at "Soon It's Gonna Rain" (from the long-running musical The Fantastiks), he improvises an introduction overdubbing on multiple flutes and clarinets, then switches to tenor sax for an explorative duet with guitarist John Abercrombie. He interprets the standard "Nature Boy" on flute as a spacious duet with vocalist Judi Silvano. Back on tenor, Kolker's hip treatment of Thelonious Monk's "Let's Call This" takes on an Afro-Cuban rhythm, including bassist John Hebert and drummer Billy Mintz. Pianist Russ Lossing is added on three songs, including Kolker's emotional, well-named ballad "Reflection" and on Silvano's rapid-fire scat vehicle "Boscarob." Lossing penned the heartfelt "Song Along the Way," a lovely ballad with a bittersweet air. Mintz contributed the inspired "Flight," which sounds improvised on the spot as the trio keeps shifting its focus. Adam Kolker continues to stand apart as an inventive performer, composer, and arranger with his brilliant Reflections. ~ Ken Dryden
Release Date: 05 December 2011
Artist: Adam Kolker

1. Soon It's Gonna Rain
2. Let's Call This
3. Reflection
4. Boscarob
5. Flight
6. Song Along the Way
7. Fez
8. Nature Boy
9. Kevin's Birthday Blues
10. Flight (Reprise)

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: SSC1281