Skeeter Davis - End of the World [1973] (Music CD)

Release Date: 29 August 2011
£8.29 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

Available 2-3 extra days

RCA's budget Camden label put out a bunch of Skeeter Davis albums that, in keeping with the company's general approach, were thrown-together compilations of material from various eras. This is no exception, the nine songs roughly spanning the entire 1960s, from her early RCA singles "Am I That Easy to Forget?," "I Forgot More Than You'll Ever Know," and "The End of the World" to a bunch of covers from late-'60s LPs ("Daddy Sang Bass," "Son-of-a Preacher Man," "Little Arrows," "Angel of the Morning," "Hold Me Tight"). Along the way we also get "My Coloring Book," which appeared on a 1963 LP also, confusingly, called The End of the World, which is naturally an entirely different release altogether than this 1973 Camden album that happens to use the same title. There's some good country-pop music here, particularly on those early RCA singles. But this scattershot way of assembling it is not the best manner, or a particularly good manner, in which to experience it. The late-'60s covers ain't so hot either, though they're not embarrassing, even if Davis climbs to the most awkward, child-like extremes of her high range in "Little Arrows." ~ Richie Unterberger
Release Date: 29 August 2011
  • 1. Lost to a Geisha Girl
  • 2. Set Him Free
  • 3. Homebreaker
  • 4. Am I That Easy to Forget?
  • 5. (I Can't Help You) I'm Falling Too
  • 6. My Last Date (With You)
  • 7. Optimistic
  • 8. Where I Ought to Be
  • 9. The Little Music Box
  • 10. The End of the World
  • 11. I'm Saving My Love
  • 12. I Can't Stay Mad at You
  • 13. He Says the Same Things to Me
  • 14. Gonna Get Along Without You Now
  • 15. Let Me Get Close to You
  • 16. What Am I Gonna Do with You
  • 17. A Dear John Letter
  • 18. Sunglasses
  • 19. Goin' Down the Road (Feelin' Bad)
  • 20. Fuel to the Flame
  • 21. What Does It Take (To Keep a Man Like You Satisfied)
  • 22. I'm a Lover (Not a Fighter)
  • 23. Bus Fare to Kentucky
  • 24. One Tin Soldier

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: TBIRDAM014