Accused - Curse Of Martha Splatterhead, The (Music CD)

Release Date: 24 August 2009
Artist: Accused
£9.29 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
New Zealand / Far East Asia - £1.69
Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

Stock available, usually dispatched in 2-3 days.

First things first: this incarnation of the Accused features exactly one original member -- guitarist Tommy Niemeyer, a co-founder of the band who left to join Gruntruck after this outfit's last album, 1992's Splatter Rock. That being said, it's easy to draw a straight line, sonically speaking, between The Curse of Martha Splatterhead and the late-'80s discs that made the Accused's name in the thrash/hardcore underground. They're still blazing through songs in 90 seconds, maybe stretching it to three minutes if they're feeling particularly epic (as on album closer "Splatter Rock II"). The music will definitely appeal to those who like their thrash primitive and old-school; current vocalist Brad Mowen sounds like he's trying to spit out a mouthful of insects with every line, as bassist Dorando and drummer Mike Peterson crank out punky rhythms behind him and Niemeyer's riffs recall D.R.I. (and their modern-day clones, Municipal Waste, for youngsters) as much as the Accused's own back catalog. The bits of sampled horror-movie dialogue that introduce various songs are another vintage touch. Though the songs are pretty damn good, this is far from an essential album even for old-school Accused fans, but it'll probably make them bang their heads happily as they drive the kids to school. ~ Phil Freeman

More Detail

1. Splatterbeast
2. Stomped To Death
3. Bodies Are Rising
4. Festival Of Flesh
5. Elijiah Black
6. Scotty Come Back
7. Hemline (A Waste Of Skin)
8. Die Violently
9. By The Hook
10. Avenue Of The Dead
11. Fuck Sorry
12. Martha's Disciples
13. Seriously Dead
14. Splatter Rock II

Release Date: 24 August 2009
Artist: Accused
Catalogue No: LORD107