Annie Ross - Four Classic Albums Plus [Remastered] (Music CD)

Release Date: 14 February 2011
Artist: Annie Ross
£6.19 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
France, Germany, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.99
Austria, Belgium, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Netherlands, Poland, Spain, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £2.69
Andorra, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Vatican City

Stock available, usually dispatched in 2-5 working days.

Although most of her best performances came in tandem with Jon Hendricks and Dave Lambert, Annie Ross recorded a lot of quality material on her own, and most of it is right here. A collection of her (mostly) solo material from the '50s, Four Classic Albums finds Ross close to the height of her vocal powers, with excellent interpretive skills and a quickly shifting tone (sometimes caressing, other times catty). The two highlights of these classic albums are Gypsy, her run-through of the classic musical, and Sings a Song with Mulligan!, her duet album with Gerry Mulligan that ranks as one of the finest jazz vocalist/instrumentalist pairings ever (and thereby, one of the best vocal albums of all time). �I Feel Pretty� is impossibly spry and bouncy, with both Ross and Mulligan showing off their musical dexterity, playing off each other's notes with kittenish glee. Most of the rest of the material is of the torch song variety, which Ross does quite well, although the sound is a little compressed (usually the fault of the original source material, no knock on the Avid label). Rounding up a few stray EPs and bonus tracks, this is a great way to accumulate most of Ross' best solo work. ~ John Bush

More Detail

1. The Way You Look Tonight
2. I'm Beginning to Think You Care
3. Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea
4. Everytime
5. Gypsy in My Soul
6. I Love Paris
7. I Didn't Know About You
8. The Lady's in Love with You
9. 'Taint What You Do
10. Don't Let the Sun Catch You Crying
11. Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea
12. Don't Worry 'Bout Me
13. I've Told Every Little Star
14. Manhattan
15. Please Don't Talk About Me When I'm Gone
16. Skylark
17. Overture
18. Everything's Coming Up Roses
19. You'll Never Get Away
20. Some People
21. All I Need Is a Boy
22. Small World
23. Together
24. Let Me Entertain You
25. Reprise
26. Annie's Lament
27. Everything I've Got
28. Invitation to the Blues
29. I Didn't Know About You
30. I Don't Want to Cry Any More
31. Lucky Day
32. I Was Doin' All Right
33. You Took Advantage of Me
34. You're Nearer
35. Lucky So and So
36. Nobody's Baby
37. I Feel Pretty
38. How About You
39. I've Grown Accustomed to Your Face
40. This Time the Dream's on Me
41. Let There Be Love
42. All of You
43. Give Me the Simple Life
44. This Is Always
45. Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea
46. It Don't Mean a Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing)
47. Twisted
48. Farmer's Market

Release Date: 14 February 2011
Artist: Annie Ross