Aretha Franklin - ARETHA (Super Deluxe Music CD Boxset)

Release Date: 10 September 2021
£46.39 includes FREE UK Postage

Stock available, usually dispatched in 2-5 working days.

Her reign as the Queen of Soul will play out across four discs on a new boxed set that is the first to span her entire career, including songs from every label she recorded with.

Among the collection’s 81 newly remastered tracks, 19 are making their CD and digital debuts, including alternate versions of classic hits, demos, rarities, and live tracks, like her stunning performance of “(You Make Me Feel) Like A Natural Woman” at The 38th Annual Kennedy Center Honors in 2015. To put Franklin’s life and career into perspective, the collection is accompanied by liner notes written by Rochelle Riley, author and director of arts and culture for the City of Detroit, and David Nathan, a music journalist and soul historian who interviewed Franklin more times than any other living writer. The collection also features stunning artwork by celebrated artist Makeba KEEBS Rainey, who provides her signature style to a photo of the Queen Of Soul taken by the legendary photographer, Neal Preston.

Even for long-time fans, ARETHA delivers plenty of surprises. Prime examples are the numerous unreleased work tapes and demos for hits like “Angel,” “Until You Come Back To Me” and “Brand New Me.” The set also features the CD and digital debuts of several television appearances, including duets with Tom Jones (“It’s Not Unusual/See Saw”), Smokey Robinson (“Ooo Baby Baby”) and Dionne Warwick (“I Say A Little Prayer.”) Finally, the collection rounds up rarities like her cover of Donny Hathaway’s “Someday We’ll All Be Free” from the Malcom X soundtrack and her jaw-dropping live performance of “Nessun Dorma.”

Franklin’s biggest hits are here too, like “I Never Loved A Man (The Way I Love You),” “(Sweet Sweet Baby) Since You’ve Been Gone” and her signature smash, “Respect.” But instead of using familiar takes for other hits, the collection selects different versions, like alternate takes of “Chain Of Fools,” “Rock Steady,” and “Spanish Harlem”; live recordings of “Baby I Love You” and “Don’t Play That Song”; and “Think” recorded for The Blues Brothers soundtrack.

Track List

CD 1:

1. Never Grow Old
2. You Grow Closer
3. Today I Sing The Blues
4. Won’t Be Long
5. Are You Sure
6. Operation Heartbreak
7. Skylark
8. Runnin’ Out Of Fools
9. One Step Ahead
10. (No, No) I’m Losing You
11. Cry Like A Baby
12. A Little Bit Of Soul
13. My Kind Of Town (Detroit Is) – Demo *
14. Try A Little Tenderness – Demo *
15. I Never Loved A Man (The Way I Love You)
16. Do Right Woman – Do Right Man
17. Respect
18. A Change Is Gonna Come
19. Chain Of Fools” – Alternate Version
20. (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction – UK Single Version
21. (Sweet Sweet Baby) Since You've Been Gone
22. Ain’t No Way
23. My Song
24. You Send Me
25. The House That Jack Built
26. Tracks Of My Tears

CD 2:

1. Baby I Love You – Live
2. Son Of A Preacher Man
3. Call Me – Alternate Version *
4. Let It Be
5. Young, Gifted And Black – Alternate Longer Take *
6. Bridge Over Troubled Water – Long Version
7. It’s Not Unusual/See Saw – with Tom Jones *
(Originally Broadcast On This Is Tom Jones, October, 9, 1970)
8. You're All I Need To Get By – Work Tape *
9. Brand New Me – Work Tape *
10. Spanish Harlem – Alternate Mix *
11. Rock Steady – Alternate Mix/Take
12. Day Dreaming
13. Share Your Love With Me – Live
14. Don’t Play That Song – Live
15. Dr. Feelgood – Live
16. Spirit In The Dark (Reprise with Ray Charles) – Live
17. How I Got Over (Single Edit) – Live
18. Master Of Eyes (The Deepness Of Your Eyes)
CD 3: 1. Somewhere – Alternate Version *
2. Angel – Work Tape *
3. The Boy From Bombay *
4. Til It's Over – Demo *
5. Oh Baby (a.k.a. “There’s Something Magic About You”) – Demo *
6. Until You Come Back To Me – Work Tape *
7. I’m In Love – Alternate Vocal
8. Without Love
9. Mr. D.J. (5 For The D.J.)
10. You
11. Something He Can Feel
12. Look Into Your Heart
13. Break It To Me Gently
14. When I Think About You
15. Almighty Fire (Woman Of The Future)
16. Ladies Only – Short Version
17. You Light Up My Life *
18. Ooo Baby Baby – with Smokey Robinson *
(Originally Broadcast On Soul Train, December 1, 1979)
19. Amazing Grace
(Originally Broadcast On Royal Variety Performance, November 23, 1980)

CD 4:

1. Think
2. I Say A Little Prayer – with Dionne Warwick *
3. United Together
4. Jump To It
5. The Wind
6. Freeway Of Love
7. Sisters Are Doin' It For Themselves – Eurythmics & Aretha Franklin
8. I Knew You Were Waiting (For Me) – Aretha Franklin and George Michael
9. Oh Happy Day – with Mavis Staples (Live at New Bethel Baptist Church, Detroit, MI - July 1987)
10. A Rose Is Still A Rose
11. Someday We'll All Be Free
12. The Makings Of You
13. Nessun Dorma – Live
14. At Last – with Lou Rawls *
(Originally Broadcast On American Soundtrack: Rhythm, Love And Soul, March 2003)
15. You’ve Got A Friend – Ronald Isley featuring Aretha Franklin
16. Rolling In The Deep – The Aretha Version
17. My Country ’Tis Of Thee
18. (You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman – Live *
(Originally Broadcast On The 38th Annual Kennedy Center Honors, December 19. 2015)
Release Date: 10 September 2021

For more information about deliveries refer to our Delivery Policy.

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Standard Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £0.99
Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.99
Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Gibraltar, Hungary, Iceland, Latvia, Malta, Slovakia
SKU: 0603497846238