Bear McCreary - Battlestar Galactica (The Plan / Razor/Original Soundtrack/Film Score) (Music CD)

Release Date: 16 July 2012
£17.99 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

Having already assembled soundtrack albums for La-La Land Records for each of the four seasons of the 2000s cable TV version of the series Battlestar Galactica, score composer Bear McCreary wasn't quite done. In addition to the regular episodes, it seems, there were also two Battlestar Galactica "special events" (a term that, stripped of the marketing hype, means either "TV movie" or "straight to video"), "Razor," which ran on TV in November 2007, and "The Plan," a 2009 home video release. On this album, promised to be the final one in the Battlestar Galactica catalog, McCreary mixes up cues from these two spin-off films. It is apparent right from the beginning that his music for them is consistent with his approach to the series. On "Apocalypse (Theme from ‘The Plan')," he presents his combination of world music styles, particularly galloping taiko drums from Japan and heavy metal electric guitar riffs. It is, he writes in his liner notes, "The most important new piece written for" "The Plan," and it is typical of what follows. In addition to rock guitarists Steve Bartek, Ira Ingber, and Scot Ian, McCreary's most important musician is Chris Bleth, who provides the exotica, playing duduk, bansuri, and both concert and ethnic woodwinds. As he does, the music travels the globe from Africa to South America to Southeast Asia, always propelled by the thundering drum ensemble. Anyone who questions such musical choices as applied to science fiction stories simply hasn't been paying attention to this franchise. For fans (who can be heard cheering during the live version of "Apocalypse" that closes the disc), this album will bring the Battlestar Galactica soundtrack series to a satisfying conclusion. ~ William Ruhlmann
Release Date: 16 July 2012

1. Apocalypse (Theme from 'The Plan') - Yarbrough, Raya
2. Razor Main Title
3. Arriving at Pegasus
4. The Plan Main Title
5. Attack on the Scorpion Shipyards
6. Apocalypse, Part 1
7. Apocalypse, Part 2
8. Pegasus Aftermath
9. Kendra's Memories
10. Mayhem on the Colonies
11. Civilian Standoff on the Scylla
12. Husker in Combat
13. Major Kendra Shaw
14. Cavil Kills and Cavil Spares - Yarbrough, Raya
15. The Hybrid Awaits
16. Kendra and the Hybrid
17. Princes of the Universe
18. Starbuck's Destiny
19. Apocalypse (Theme from 'The Plan') - Battlestar Orchestra

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: LLLCD1125