Ben Pollack - Vol.6 The Whoopee Makers (Music CD)

Release Date: 10 September 2009
Artist: Ben Pollack
£12.29 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

This CD, which is volume six out of seven discs that reissue the complete output of the Ben Pollack band of 1926-32, is actually the Pollack ensemble without the leader. Issued under many pseudonyms (and with Ray Bauduc on drums rather than Pollack), the group is best known as the Whoopee Makers. Several groups used that name (including ensembles led by Jack Pettis and the Duke Ellington Orchestra) but these 24 numbers (which have six alternate takes placed at the end of the program) are believed to be all of the selections during this time period that featured the Pollack sidemen. In the personnel on most of the numbers are trombonist Jack Teagarden, clarinetist Benny Goodman (who also takes one solo on alto) and trumpeter Jimmy McPartland. Some of the selections are very good examples of late-'20s hot jazz, including "Cause I'm in Love," "Digga Digga Doo" and "Bugle Call Rag." Some numbers find the band saddled with crummy singers (such as Claude Reese and the abysmal Mildred Roselle) but still overcome the vocal refrain to play some strong choruses. And a few jams are purposely corny ("Shirt Tail Stomp," "Icky Blues" and "Railroad Man") because those cornball efforts actually outsold the better jazz numbers. The program is well organized and despite the variance in quality, 1920s collectors will want this CD. ~ Scott Yanow
Release Date: 10 September 2009
Artist: Ben Pollack
  • 1. Cause I'm in Love
  • 2. Digga Digga Do
  • 3. Whoopee Stomp
  • 4. Baby
  • 5. Bugle Call Rag
  • 6. Blue Little You
  • 7. A Japanese Dream
  • 8. Hungry for Love
  • 9. Futuristic Rhythm
  • 10. Out Where the Blues Begin
  • 11. Railroad Man
  • 12. I Wonder Where Mary Is Tonight?
  • 13. There's Something New 'Bout the Old Moon Tonight
  • 14. Mexicali Moon
  • 15. Shirt Tail Stomp
  • 16. Icky Blues
  • 17. It's Tight Like That
  • 18. Four or Five Times
  • 19. Digga Digga Do
  • 20. Whoopee Stomp
  • 21. Shirt Tail Stomp
  • 22. Icky Blues
  • 23. It's Tight Like That
  • 24. Four or Five Times

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: BDW8042