Ben Webster - 100 Years (The Brute And The Beautiful) (Music CD)

Release Date: 10 August 2009
Artist: Ben Webster
£15.49 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
France, Germany, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.99
Austria, Belgium, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Netherlands, Poland, Spain, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £2.69
Andorra, Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Vatican City
North America - £2.99
Canada, USA
New Zealand / Far East Asia - £2.99
New Zealand
Japan - £3.99
Japan, Taiwan
Others - £3.99
Falkland Islands

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

In honor of the great tenor saxophonist Ben Webster's 100th birthday, Storyville has brought out this two-CD compilation of rare studio and live cuts, culled mostly from the late, European phase of Webster's career. In 2007, Storyville had already put out an 8-CD box set called DIG BEN--the tracks to be heard on THE BRUTE AND THE BEAUTIFUL were actually put aside at time in anticipation of his centennial. Even more than the bebop-influenced Coleman Hawkins, Webster remained a highly traditional musician to the very end, but his rough-and-ready tone combined with his signature blues-inflected lyricism--the "brute and beautiful" of the title--guaranteed that he sounded fresh and contemporary to the very end.

More Detail

1. In a Mellotone
2. Blues In B-Flat
3. Cotton Tail
4. Nasty Attitude
5. Dancing On the Ceiling
6. Indiana
7. Man I Love
8. Sometimes I'm Happy
9. Things Ain't What They Used To Be
10. Sweet Georgia Brown
11. Better Go
12. Theme
13. Star Dust
14. My Romance
15. Over the Rainbow
16. Old Folks
17. Come Sunday
18. Bye Bye Blackbird
19. Tenderly
20. Embraceable You
21. Ad Lib Blues
22. Sophisticated Lady
23. Danny Boy
24. Going Home
25. You'd Be So Nice To Come Home To
26. Theme

Release Date: 10 August 2009
Artist: Ben Webster
SKU: 1038407