Big Country - Crossing (Music CD)

Release Date: 06 February 2012
Artist: Big Country
£13.49 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

With producer Steve Lillywhite at the helm, Scotland's Big Country managed to deliver earnest, socially conscious arena anthems in a similar vein to U2 and the Alarm. The twist was their trademark bagpipe sound, achieved through the use of E-Bow. The unique sound of "In a Big Country" garnered the band considerable attention and a Top 20 single in the U.S. The Crossing, however, is an album whose richness goes beyond the single. The more subdued "Chance" is more sparse and its personal lyrics are every bit as heartfelt as the more populist-inclined anthems like the wonderful "The Storm" or the thundering "Fields of Fire." The lyrics are straightforward and, despite the grand themes of many of the tracks, manage to steer clear of being overly pretentious. While this album earned the band a gold record, Big Country's sound and image (reinforced by the members tartan, checked shirts) resulted in them being tagged a novelty and they never duplicated their initial success in America. ~ Tom Demalon
Release Date: 06 February 2012
Artist: Big Country

1. In a Big Country
2. Inwards
3. Chance
4. 1000 Stars
5. The Storm
6. Harvest Home
7. Lost Patrol
8. Close Action
9. Fields of Fire
10. Porrohman
11. Balcony (B-Side)
12. Flag of Nation (Swimming) (B-Side)
13. Angle Park (B-Side)
14. All of Us (B-Side)
15. Heart and Soul (B-Side)
16. The Crossing (B-Side)
17. Track of My Tears (Live/B-Side)
18. Angle Park (1981 4 Track Demo)
19. Harvest Home (1981 4 Track Demo)
20. We Could Laugh (1981 4 Track Demo)
21. In a Big Country (Demo)
22. The Storm (Demo)
23. Big City (Demo)
24. Fields of Fire (Riverside BBC TV Performance/Version)
25. Lost Patrol (Phonogram Studios Demo)
26. Inwards (Phonogram Studios Demo)
27. Thousand Stars (Chris Thomas Demo)
28. CLose Action (Chris Thomas Demo)
29. Lost Patrol (Chris Thomas Demo)
30. Inwards (Chris Thomas Demo)
31. Fields of Fire (Demo)
32. Ring Out (Demo)
33. Thousand Stars (Demo)
34. Chance (Demo)

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: 2789087