Bill Frisell - Best Of Bill Frisell Vol.1, The (Folk Songs) (Music CD)

Release Date: 23 February 2009
Artist: Bill Frisell
£11.79 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
France, Germany, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.99
Austria, Belgium, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Netherlands, Poland, Spain, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £2.69
Andorra, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Vatican City

Stock available, usually dispatched in 2-5 working days.

Since the late 1980s jazz guitarist Bill Frisell has been drawing direct inspiration from folk, country, and blues, anchoring his more esoteric and avant-garde tendencies with roots music. Nonesuch's sampler THE BEST OF BILL FRISELL, VOL. 1: FOLK SONGS documents this trend in Frisell's output, culling tracks from such acclaimed records as IS THAT YOU?, NASHVILLE, and GOOD DOG, HAPPY MAN. Whether giving a moody, impressionistic reading of Hank Williams' "I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry," or jamming with Jerry Douglas on the neo-bluegrass of "We're Not From Around Here," Frisell honors tradition while remaining true to his progressive sensibility. His versatile, expansive style and mastery of tone are in evidence on each of this fine compilation's 15 cuts.

More Detail

1. I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry
2. Raccoon Cat
3. Sugar Baby
4. We're Not From Around Here
5. Pioneers, The
6. Rag
7. Verona
8. Shenandoah (for Johnny Smith)
9. Ballroom
10. Have A Little Faith In Me
11. Mr Memory
12. Wildwood Flower
13. Slow Dance
14. Sittin' On Top Of The World
15. Poem For Eva

Release Date: 23 February 2009
Artist: Bill Frisell
SKU: 7559798633