Bill Withers - Just As I Am - 40th Anniversary Edition (Music CD)

Release Date: 07 May 2012
Artist: Bill Withers
£10.99 includes FREE UK Postage

Stock available, usually dispatched in 2-5 working days.

In a career laden with highlights and hallmarks in the annals of soul history, Just as I Am gets rather overlooked as one of the best soul debuts ever issued. Remastered and repackaged as a part of Sony's DualDisc series, Just as I Am gets cleaned up and presented to a new generation of listeners who may have missed out the first time. And with this remastering comes an intimacy, warmth, and immediacy to the recordings that was only hinted at with previous versions; it's almost as if Withers is in a living room singing to a small group of people, rather than making a record. Of course, the instantly recognizable anthem "Ain't No Sunshine" gets all of the acclaim it so richly deserves, but tracks like "Harlem" and "Better Off Dead" also warrant kudos for the intensity and maturity of their performances. Even when he's doing covers, Withers treats them as if they are his own compositions and handles them with great delicacy. And while the audio performances are top-notch, the new documentary on the making of the record, as well as rare performances of "Ain't No Sunshine," "Ain't Her Daddy," and "Harlem" are the icing on the proverbial cake. Kudos to Sony for not only reissuing a long lost masterpiece, but for doing it in such a classy fashion. ~ Rob Theakston

More Detail

  • 1. Harlem
  • 2. Ain't No Sunshine
  • 3. Grandma's Hands
  • 4. Sweet Wanomi
  • 5. Everybody's Talkin'
  • 6. Do It Good
  • 7. Hope She'll Be Happier
  • 8. Let It Be
  • 9. I'm Her Daddy
  • 10. In My Heart
  • 11. Moanin' and Groanin'
  • 12. Better Off Dead
Release Date: 07 May 2012
Artist: Bill Withers

For more information about deliveries refer to our Delivery Policy.

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Standard Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £0.99
Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.99
Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Gibraltar, Hungary, Iceland, Latvia, Malta, Slovakia, Slovenia