Birdy - Birdy (Music CD)

Release Date: 07 November 2011
Artist: Birdy
£5.19 includes FREE UK Postage

Stock available, usually dispatched in 2-5 working days.

On the face of it, the self-titled debut from 15-year-old Birdy doesn't seem any different from the hastily assembled albums released by various X Factor alumni. But dig a little deeper and you'll find that this stripped-back collection of lesser-known hits and album tracks reads like a who's who of lo-fi hipster indie rock. As clever and subtle as these reworkings are, it's Birdy's youthful and fragile voice that steals the show, whether it's replicating the multi-layered harmonies of Fleet Foxes' "White Winter Hymnal," providing a poignancy to Bon Iver's "Skinny Love," or showcasing her scale-gliding abilities on the Postal Service's "The District Sleeps Alone Tonight." Thanks to her haunting tones and a compelling production, Birdy impressively avoids being the try-hard affair you'd expect.

More Detail

  • 1. 1901
  • 2. Skinny Love
  • 3. People Help the People
  • 4. White Winter Hymnal
  • 5. The District Sleeps Alone Tonight
  • 6. I'll Never Forget You
  • 7. Young Blood
  • 8. Shelter
  • 9. Fire and Rain
  • 10. Without a Word
  • 11. Terrible Love
Release Date: 07 November 2011
Artist: Birdy
SKU: 5249859582