Blind Boys of Alabama (The) - Go Tell It on the Mountain [DVD Audio] (Music CD)

Release Date: 17 September 2012
£3.29 includes FREE UK Postage

Stock available, usually dispatched in 2-5 working days.

Here we go. Why can't record labels leave well enough alone? Here is the third Five Blind Boys of Alabama record on which the legendary Southern gospel quartet has to have celebrity guests collaborate with them in order to get played on National Public Radio. To make this one seem different than the last two -- and for the record, Higher Ground was a monster album, as the group was backed by Robert Randolph & the Family Band -- this one is a Christmas outing. Here, Solomon Burke lends his talents to "I Pray on Christmas" and Tom Waits on the title track, with Michael Franti stepping in for "The Little Drummer Boy," Chrissie Hynde and Richard Thompson "adding" to the traditional "In the Bleak Midwinter" (which makes sense since Danny Thompson is the bassist on this date). Other guests include Shelby Lynne, Les McCann, Aaron Neville, Robert Randolph and George Clinton (a ridiculous collaboration -- Randolph, a brilliant ambitious musician, doesn't need the fumbling Clinton for anything, especially to play with the Blind Boys), and Me'Shell NdegéOcello. And thank god for Mavis Staples, who adds dimension, depth, and texture to an already glorious sound. ~ Thom Jurek

More Detail

  • 1. Opening
  • 2. Run On
  • 3. Go Tell It On the Mountain
  • 4. Little Drummer Boy
  • 5. If I Had a Hammer
  • 6. Nobody's Fault But Mine
  • 7. Born in Bethlehem
  • 8. Joy to the World
  • 9. People Get Ready
  • 10. In the Bleak Midwinter
  • 11. Higher Ground
  • 12. Amazing Grace
  • 13. Look Where He Brought Me From
  • 14. Someone Watches Over Me
  • 15. Down By the Riverside
  • 16. Behind The Scenes
  • 17. Last Month of the Year (Video)
  • 18. Higher Ground (Video)
  • 19. There Will Be a Light (Video)
Release Date: 17 September 2012

For more information about deliveries refer to our Delivery Policy.

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Standard Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £0.99
Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.99
Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Gibraltar, Hungary, Iceland, Latvia, Malta, Slovakia, Slovenia