Blind Boys of Alabama (The) - Higher Ground (Music CD)

Release Date: 13 May 2016
£13.59 includes FREE UK Postage

Stock available, usually dispatched in 2-5 working days.

Higher Ground, the Five Blind Boys of Alabama's second album for Real World, is even more of a crossover effort than 1997's Spirit of the Century. It sports a classics-heavy track listing, including great choices of inspirational material from R&B legends Stevie Wonder ("Higher Ground"), Curtis Mayfield ("People Get Ready"), Aretha Franklin ("Spirit in the Dark"), Prince ("The Cross"), Jimmy Cliff ("Many Rivers to Cross"), and George Clinton ("You and Your Folks"). Another inspired choice is the backing band, sacred-steel guitarist Robert Randolph and the Family Band, who provides a rock-solid rhythm, yet also lends the feeling necessary to frame the vocals. Leads Clarence Fountain and George Scott, who've been performing together for over 50 years, direct the ensemble with gospel fire; Fountain's original, "Stand by Me," is a rollicking jubilee number done with all the energy of his mid-'50s performances. Elsewhere, Randolph contributes some great licks to "I May Not Can Se," another group original, and Ben Harper stops by to deliver a piercing high tenor on "People Get Ready." ~ John Bush

More Detail

  • 1. People Get Ready
  • 2. Spirit in the Dark
  • 3. Wade in the Water
  • 4. Stand By Me
  • 5. The Cross
  • 6. Many Rivers to Cross
  • 7. Higher Ground
  • 8. Freedom Road
  • 9. I May Not Can See
  • 10. You And Your Folks/23rd Paslm
  • 11. I Shall Not Walk Alone
  • 12. Precious Lord
  • 13. Run On For A Long Time (Live on Morning Becomes Eclectic)
  • 14. My Lord What A Morning (Live on Morning Becomes Eclectic)
  • 15. Freedom Road (Live on Morning Becomes Eclectic)
  • 16. Higher Ground (Live on Morning Becomes Eclectic)
  • 17. People Get Ready (Live on Morning Becomes Eclectic)
  • 18. Wade In The Water (Live on Morning Becomes Eclectic)
  • 19. Amazing Grace (Live on Morning Becomes Eclectic)
Release Date: 13 May 2016

For more information about deliveries refer to our Delivery Policy.

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Standard Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £0.99
Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.99
Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Gibraltar, Hungary, Iceland, Latvia, Malta, Slovakia, Slovenia
SKU: 0816651011018