Blue Öyster Cult - Essential Blue Öyster Cult (Music CD)

Release Date: 27 August 2012
£10.19 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
New Zealand / Far East Asia - £1.69
New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

Since the mid-'90s, Blue Öyster Cult have had their catalog pillaged for hits collections on almost a yearly basis, so the appearance of yet another such beast isn't the welcome return of an old friend that it should be. True, there was a time when a greatest-hits collection was sorely needed, but the double-CD set Workshop of the Telescopes took care of that in 1995, and if that was too massive a retrospective, there was 2000's single-disc Don't Fear the Reaper: The Best of Blue Öyster Cult. Add to those a number of re-recordings and misleadingly packaged live collections and it's hard to justify The Essential Blue Oyster Cult. However, if you look at the collection saga of Blue Öyster Cult as a perfecting of the formula -- a thinning of the herd -- then Essential starts to prove its worth as a lean machine -- all killer, no filler. No BOC collection can stand without their biggest acknowledged hits, "(Don't Fear) The Reaper" and "Burnin' for You," and both of those are here. So is the over-the-top madness of "Godzilla" and the cult hit -- yes, cult, BOC is a band whose fan base is so disparate there are mainstream and underground fans -- "E.T.I. (Extra Terrestrial Intelligence)," which somehow slipped by the previous single-disc collection. Others, like "Veterans of Psychic Wars" and "Harvester of Eyes," carry equal heft and help Essential live up to its name. ~ Wade Kergan

More Detail

  • Disk 1
  • 1. Cities on Flame with Rock and Roll
  • 2. Before the Kiss, A Redcap
  • 3. Stairway to the Stars
  • 4. Transmaniacon MC
  • 5. Buck's Boogie
  • 6. The Red and the Black
  • 7. O.D.'d on Life Itself
  • 8. 7 Screaming Diz-Busters
  • 9. Career of Evil
  • 10. Flaming Telepaths
  • 11. Astronomy
  • 12. Hot Rails to Hell
  • 13. Harvester of Eyes
  • 14. Me 262
  • 15. Born To Be Wild
  • Disk 2
  • 1. Don't Fear the Reaper
  • 2. This Ain't the Summer of Love
  • 3. E.T.I. (Extra Terrestrial Intelligence)
  • 4. Godzilla
  • 5. I Love the Night
  • 6. Goin' Through the Motions
  • 7. In Thee
  • 8. Black Blade
  • 9. The Marshall Plan
  • 10. Veteran of the Psychic Wars
  • 11. Joan Crawford
  • 12. Burnin' for You
  • 13. Roadhouse Blues
  • 14. Shooting Shark
  • 15. Take Me Away
  • 16. Dancin' in the Ruins
Release Date: 27 August 2012
SKU: 88725463402