Bob Dylan - Original Album Classics, Vol. 3 (Music CD)

Release Date: 14 April 2014
Artist: Bob Dylan
£10.39 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £2.19
France, Germany, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £2.99
Austria, Belgium, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Netherlands, Poland, Spain, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £4.99
Andorra, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Vatican City

Stock available, usually dispatched in 2-5 working days.

This set is one of Sony Legacy's inventory-clearing exercises: five Bob Dylan catalog titles are packaged in a slipcase for a budget price. It's an interesting cross-section of material, to say the least. Shot of Love is the middle volume in the trilogy of Christian records the songwriter released, bookended by the classic Slow Train Coming and the unfairly reviled Saved. Despite its hideous cover, it's actually a very strong record, drenched in blues and raw R&B, with the songs "The Bridegroom's Still Waiting at the Altar" and "Every Grain of Sand" still showing up in his set list in the 21st century. Infidels, from 1983, featured guitarist Mark Knopfler on guitar, and Sly Dunbar and Robbie Shakespeare in the rhythm section. Its first side boasted some killer tracks including "Jokerman" and "Sweetheart Like You," while the flip contained "I and I." Real Live from 1984 was considered a minor Dylan live record, but it is one of his tightest -- former Rolling Stone Mick Taylor is on lead guitar -- in a rocking program of hits as well as "I and I." One has to wonder what Dylan was thinking when he released Dylan & the Dead: though the shows were often brilliant, the recording is anything but; it's tired and uninspired. Finally, 1989's Oh Mercy was Dylan's first collaboration with producer Daniel Lanois, who was riding a popular wave, working with U2 and the Neville Brothers, and issuing his own acclaimed Acadie. Though it contains a couple of dud tracks, the better songs are minor classics including "Man in the Long Black Coat," "Ring Them Bells," "Where Teardrops Fall," and "Most of the Time." Hardcore fans more than likely have the albums they want from this set, but younger and newer fans unfamiliar with the catalog will find four of these records well worth owning. ~ Thom Jurek

More Detail

  • Disk 1
  • 1. Shot of Love
  • 2. Heart of Mine
  • 3. Property of Jesus
  • 4. Lenny Bruce
  • 5. Watered-Down Love
  • 6. The Groom's Still Waiting at the Altar
  • 7. Dead Man, Dead Man
  • 8. In the Summertime
  • 9. Trouble
  • 10. Every Grain of Sand
  • Disk 2
  • 1. Jokerman
  • 2. Sweetheart Like You
  • 3. Neighborhood Bully
  • 4. License to Kill
  • 5. Man of Peace
  • 6. Union Sundown
  • 7. I and I
  • 8. Don't Fall Apart on Me Tonight
  • Disk 3
  • 1. Highway 61 Revisited
  • 2. Maggie's Farm
  • 3. I and I
  • 4. License to Kill
  • 5. It Ain't Me, Babe
  • 6. Tangled up in Blue
  • 7. Masters of War
  • 8. Ballad of a Thin Man
  • 9. Girl from the North Country
  • 10. Tombstone Blues
  • Disk 4
  • 1. Slow Train
  • 2. I Want You
  • 3. Gotta Serve Somebody
  • 4. Queen Jane Approximately
  • 5. Joey
  • 6. All Along the Watchtower
  • 7. Knockin' On Heaven's Door
  • Disk 5
  • 1. Political World
  • 2. Where Teardrops Fall
  • 3. Everything Is Broken
  • 4. Ring Them Bells
  • 5. Man in the Long Black Coat
  • 6. Most of the Time
  • 7. What Good Am I?
  • 8. Disease of Conceit
  • 9. What Was It You Wanted
  • 10. Shooting Star
Release Date: 14 April 2014
Artist: Bob Dylan
SKU: 88843045252