Borstal Boy

Release Date: 28 April 2008 | Certificate: Suitable for 15 years and over
£5.69 includes FREE UK Postage

RRP: £15.99. You Save: £10.30

Stock available, usually dispatched in 2-5 working days.

Peter Sheridan the acclaimed Irish theatre director and brother of film director Jim Sheridan (MY LEFT FOOT) makes his feature directorial debut with an adaptation of playwright novelist and political rogue Brendan Behan’s autobiographical tale. In 1939 sixteen-year-old IRA recruit Behan (Shawn Hatosy) hides TNT in his trousers and boards a ferry for England eager to further the Irish Republics cause. Nabbed immediately by police the underage Behan evades the hangmans noose and is sentenced to four years at an English borstal or reform school run by the paternal Governor Joyce (Michael York). The cocky idealist now living with the enemy--troubled boys that Brendan finds remarkably similar to himself--quickly begins planning his escape. To his dismay Brendan becomes the object of handsome thief Charlie Millwall’s (Danny Dyer) wistful homosexual affections. The young Irishman fights against association with a poofter but in spite of himself grows closer to Charlie. Meanwhile Brendan begins a tenuous relationship with Joyces daughter Elizabeth (Eva Birthistle) a literate and upper crust painter. Hatosy and Dyer deliver nuanced performances that enhance Sheridans loving homage to a literary legends youthful exploration of sexuality and creativity.


Making of, Short film

More Detail

Region 2
Sound: Dolby Digital
Production Year: 2002
Main Language: English
Release Date: 28 April 2008
Certificate: 15 - Suitable for Persons Aged 15 or Over

For more information about deliveries refer to our Delivery Policy.

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Standard Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £0.99
Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.99
Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Gibraltar, Hungary, Iceland, Latvia, Malta, Slovakia, Slovenia