Boys (The) - Boys (Music CD)

Release Date: 18 March 2013
Artist: Boys (The)
£10.89 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
New Zealand / Far East Asia - £1.69
Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

Stock available, usually dispatched in 2-3 days.

Although they were swiftly overtaken by the emergence of a custom-crafted power pop movement, for much of 1977-1978 the Boys reigned supreme in the bright and breezy bubble punk stakes, simply churning out a succession of two-to-three-minute gems that flooded not only their albums and singles, but also the realms of the alter-ego Yobs. Patently influenced by the Ramones but readily avoiding the most obvious traps by virtue of their own understanding of what made a pop song tick, the Boys' first two singles, "I Don't Care" and "The First Time," remain period classics, while their debut album, September 1977's The Boys, went on to nibble the U.K. Top 50 at a time when such glories were still a rare achievement. Tightly scything guitars, sharply embroidered keyboards, and Kid Reid's contagiously imploring vocals dominate the proceedings, a relentlessly crisp buzzsaw whine that is as melodic as it is fast and as irresistibly singalong as it is either. Time, the enemy of so many punk-era artifacts, hasn't dented the album's pleasures; indeed, it might even have heightened them, as a direct line of descent to the modern likes of Green Day is revealed in living neon. Several early CD reissues did little justice to the album; the Captain Oi release, however, is essential, not only for the mastering and packaging, but also for eight bonus tracks that include the first stirrings of the aforementioned Yobs, a pair of non-album B-sides, and two songs ("Lonely Schooldays" and "Take a Heart") that have never previously seen the light of day, but slide straight into the soul of the album regardless. ~ Dave Thompson

More Detail

  • Disk 1
  • 1. Sick On You
  • 2. I Call Your Name
  • 3. Tumble With Me
  • 4. Tonight
  • 5. I Don't Care
  • 6. Soda Pressing
  • 7. No Money
  • 8. First Time
  • 9. Box Numbers
  • 10. Kiss Like a Nun
  • 11. Cop Cars
  • 12. Keep Running
  • 13. Tenement Kids
  • 14. Living In the City
  • Disk 2
  • 1. Tumble With Me
  • 2. It Only Hurts When I Cry
  • 3. I Dont Care
  • 4. Soda Pressing
  • 5. First Time (Long Version)
  • 6. Watcha Gonna Do
  • 7. Turning Grey
  • 8. Run Run Rudolph - Yobs
  • 9. Worm Song - Yobs
Release Date: 18 March 2013
Artist: Boys (The)
Catalogue No: FIRECD285