Brigitte DeMeyer - Nothing Comes Free (Music CD)

Release Date: 03 October 2011
£12.99 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
France, Germany, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.99
Austria, Belgium, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Netherlands, Poland, Spain, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £2.69
Andorra, Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Vatican City
North America - £2.99
Canada, USA
New Zealand / Far East Asia - £2.99
New Zealand
Japan - £3.99
Japan, Taiwan
Others - £3.99
Falkland Islands

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

Brigitte DeMeyer offered a credible, though not outstanding, rootsy blues-folk-rock album on her sophomore effort. The relaxed bluesy mood would have fit in well with mainstream FM rock radio in the early to mid-'70s, recalling at times the early work of Bonnie Raitt and Little Feat. In fact, Lowell George's "Roll 'Em Easy" is covered, though DeMeyer wrote or co-wrote most of the songs. When the Hammond organ makes its infrequent appearances, production-wise it doesn't sound too different than vintage efforts by Dr. John and the Band. For the most part it's more subdued than all of those rather more commercial reference points, though, with frequent slide and acoustic guitar. (DeMeyer herself, though pictured with a guitar on the cover, plays her acoustic guitar on just a few tracks.) As a songwriter DeMeyer favors tunes, whether relationship-oriented or not, with impressionistic images and feelings that convey adult uncertainty and tugging between adventurousness and a wish for solid grounding. Raitt fans looking for something they're apt to like could do worse than to check this out, though it's more opening-act material than something on par with Raitt or Lowell George. Incidentally, the album ends with an acoustic cover of the Beatles' "Oh! Darling" that's not listed on the sleeve. ~ Richie Unterberger

More Detail

1. Another You
2. By Yer Side
3. Roll the Wheels
4. My Everything
5. Brother of Mine
6. Big Boss Man
7. Nothing Comes Free
8. Hands Cannot Be Tied
9. Any Road
10. Ain't the One
11. Roll 'Em Easy
12. Stand Where I Can See You
13. Untitled Hidden Track

Release Date: 03 October 2011