Brother Cornbread - Kid Sheik & Brother Cornbread in Copenhagen (Live Recording) (Music CD)

Release Date: 21 October 2016
£11.59 includes FREE UK Postage

Stock available, usually dispatched in 2-5 working days.

In 1974 New Orleans trumpeter George "Kid Sheik" Cola and clarinetist Joe "Cornbread" Thomas travelled to Denmark for some concerts with local players. This previously unissued live music (which came out on a 1996 CD) has some spirited moments on tunes such as "Bye & Bye," "Peoria," "Back Porch" and "The Second Line" but also some major flaws. Thomas' clarinet playing, which shows potential, is unfortunately often out-of-tune and, with the exception of "Yes Sir That's My Baby" and "Peoria," there are vocals by either Cola or Thomas on every selection; neither have very good voices. Overall the music was probably much more enjoyable to experience in concert than to hear on a record where its deficiencies are much more apparent. ~ Scott Yanow

More Detail

  • 1. Bye and Bye - Cola, Kid Sheik
  • 2. Just a Closer Walk With Thee
  • 3. Tulane Swing - Cola, Kid Sheik
  • 4. St. James Infirmary
  • 5. I Wish I Was in Peoria - Cola, Kid Sheik
  • 6. Eh, La Bas
  • 7. Yes, Sir That's My Baby - Cola, Kid Sheik
  • 8. Down by the Riverside - Audience
  • 9. Alexander's Ragtime Band
  • 10. Back Porch - Cola, Kid Sheik
  • 11. The Second Line
Release Date: 21 October 2016

For more information about deliveries refer to our Delivery Policy.

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Standard Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £0.99
Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.99
Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Gibraltar, Hungary, Iceland, Latvia, Malta, Slovakia, Slovenia