Bruce Springsteen - River (Music CD)

Release Date: 15 June 2015
£12.89 includes FREE UK Postage

Stock available, usually dispatched in 2-5 working days.

Almost all of the 19 tracks on Bruce Springsteen's The River hit you in the stomach with burning saxophone from Clarence Clemons and piercing Wurlitzer organ. Springsteen, meanwhile, sings of cars and girls and girls and cars, but at no stage does he forget that this is rock & roll. Described as the "new Dylan" early in his career, the singer proved this tag a fallacy, drawing on Dansette pop -- Phil Spector, Gary U.S. Bonds, Mitch Ryder -- rather than the folk tradition. The singer articulated the dilemmas of America's blue collar workforce, encapsulating a generation trapped in a post-'60s malaise. He does so with sumptuous melodies which draw in, rather than confront, the listener, and show Springsteen not just as a magnetic showman, but as a pensive, literate songwriter.

Disc: 1
1. The Ties That Bind
2. Sherry Darling
3. Jackson Cage
4. Two Hearts
5. Independence Day
6. Hungry Heart
7. Out In the Street
8. Crush on You
9. You Can Look (But You Better Not Touch)
10. I Wanna Marry You
11. The River

Disc: 2
1. Point Blank
2. Cadillac Ranch
3. I'm a Rocker
4. Fade Away
5. Stolen Car
6. Ramrod
7. The Price You Pay
8. Drive All Night
9. Wreck on the Highway
Release Date: 15 June 2015

For more information about deliveries refer to our Delivery Policy.

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Standard Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £0.99
Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.99
Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Gibraltar, Hungary, Iceland, Latvia, Malta, Slovakia, Slovenia
SKU: 88875098772