Buzzcocks - Different Kind of Tension (Music CD)

Release Date: 28 January 2013
Artist: Buzzcocks
£7.19 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

The final album of the Buzzcocks' first phase of existence is the most fragmented of the three, with increasingly ambitious songs fighting for time with tracks that sound much like the group's earliest efforts. Said songs are often quite good, like the opening "Paradise" or the great romantic angst of "You Say You Don't Love Me," but one can sense the band working to avoid the trap the Ramones fell into by simply offering up yet more soundalikes. Diggle makes a definite mark on this album, as on the slow crawl then fast thrash "Sitting Round at Home," a highlight of Tension that also features his electronically distorted vocals. "Mad Mad Judy" is a slightly more straightforward blitz, but with energy to spare and a spacious feel (credit again to producer Rushent). As the album closes, the sense of slight schizophrenia resolves itself as the group embraces all-out experimentation, producing some of the Buzzcocks' all-time best songs. "Hollow Inside" shows the band's knack for disguising scalpel-sharp sentiments with seeming simplicity, and the title track's contradictory slogans/demands disturbing robot vocals and nagging beat and melody up the ante even further. "I Believe" concludes things (aside from the fake found-sound snippet "Radio Nine") on the highest possible note. Shelley's slightly bemused recitation of all the things he believes in is suddenly interrupted by the line "There is no love in this world anymore," turned and electronically distorted into an obsessive, anthemic mantra as the band charges along with him up and out. An invigorating blast of, indeed, tension and angst, it alone makes Tension worth investigating. ~ Ned Raggett
Release Date: 28 January 2013
Artist: Buzzcocks
  • Disk 1
  • 1. Paradise
  • 2. Sitting 'round At Home
  • 3. You Say You Don't Love Me
  • 4. You Know You Can't Help It
  • 5. Mad, Mad Judy
  • 6. Raison D'Etre
  • 7. I Don't Know What to Do With My Life
  • 8. Money
  • 9. Hollow Inside
  • 10. A Different Kind of Tension
  • 11. I Believe
  • 12. Radio Nine
  • 13. Everybody's Happy Nowadays
  • 14. Why Can't I Touch It?
  • 15. Harmony In My Head
  • 16. Something's Gone Wrong Again
  • Disk 2
  • 1. Are Everything
  • 2. Why She's a Girl From the Chainstore
  • 3. Airwaves Dream
  • 4. Strange Thing
  • 5. What Do You Know
  • 6. Running Free
  • 7. I Look Alone
  • 8. You Say You Don't Love Me (Demo)
  • 9. I Don't Know What To Do With My Life (Demo)
  • 10. Harmony In My Head (Demo)
  • 11. I Don't Know (Demo)
  • 12. Run Away From Home (Demo)
  • 13. The Drive System (Demo)
  • 14. Mad Mad Judy (Demo)
  • 15. Jesus Made Me Feel Guilty (Demo)
  • 16. Something's Gone Wrong Again (Backing Track)
  • 17. You Know You Can't Help It (Demo)
  • 18. I Believe (Demo)
  • 19. Everybody's Happy Nowadays (John Peel Show 18th Oct 1978)
  • 20. I Don't Know What To Do With My Life (John Peel Show 21st May 1979)
  • 21. Mad Mad Judy (John Peel Show 21st May 1979)
  • 22. Hollow Inside (John Peel Show 21st May 1979/Demo)

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: 7251192