Candles (The) - Matter + Spirit (Music CD)

Release Date: 16 December 2016
£11.79 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
France, Germany, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.99
Austria, Belgium, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Netherlands, Poland, Spain, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £2.69
Andorra, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Vatican City

Stock available, usually dispatched in 2-5 working days.

Led by journeyman songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Josh Lattanzi, the Candles have an easy way with rustic, tuneful rock that drifts effortlessly between jangly Americana and early-'70s singer/songwriter fare. While the New York band's first two efforts were rife with power pop leanings and dusty road twang, 2016's Matter + Spirit is a more organic set, often eschewing electricity in favor of woody acoustic tones, pianos, and laid-back vocals. Although their occasional stabs at revivalist indie folk ("Back to the City") and country-flavored shuffles ("You Won't Remember Me") are fine, they're at their best letting Lattanzi's well-honed songwriting chops dictate less overt directions, as on a spacious road meditation like the harmonically rich "Blue Skies and Sun" and the dreamy highlight "Sunburned." When not working on their own material, the Candles often double as Norah Jones' touring band and she returns the favor here with a guest duet on the sweet and mellow "Move Along." It's another solid release from this veteran crew who value subtlety and honest craftsmanship above all else. ~ Timothy Monger

More Detail

  • 1. Back to the City
  • 2. Move Along
  • 3. Blue Skies and Sun
  • 4. Followed
  • 5. Lost My Driving Wheel
  • 6. Something Good
  • 7. Sunburned
  • 8. Til It's Gone
  • 9. You Won’t Remember Me
Release Date: 16 December 2016
SKU: 0654436073024