Captain Beyond - Captain Beyond/Sufficiently Breathless (Music CD)

Release Date: 05 October 2009
£13.69 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
New Zealand / Far East Asia - £1.69
Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

Leave it to Australia's Raven Records to get it right. This two-fer by Captain Beyond is a case in point. For the first time on CD, listeners get both releases by the original band issued in 1972 and 1973 on Capricorn Records. Captain Beyond was a supergroup of sorts. Formed in Los Angeles, the group contained former members of Deep Purple, Iron Butterfly, and the Johnny Winter Band. They issued these two very different recordings full of compelling, wildly spacey hard rock with truly progressive underpinnings--their two song cycles contained everything from power trio riffing to shifting time signatures, jazz interludes, lithe dreamy songwriting, and enough rock & roll attitude to keep a listener inside the mix for an entire album--even after coming out of the spell for a bit to flip the sides of the LP. Raven's compilation gives these two albums the proper treatment they never got. (Capricorn was notorious for its sloppy business practices as well as its spot-on musical vision.) The sound quality is excellent throughout due to a thorough remaster that keeps much of the analog feel in the final product. In addition, the booklet features a thorough history by Ian McFarlane and a personal reminiscence from guitarist Larry "Rhino" Rheinhart. For the money, you simply can't ask for more.

More Detail

1. Dancing Madly Backwards (On A Sea Of Air)
2. Armworth
3. Myopic Void
4. Mesmerization Eclipse
5. Raging River Of Fear
6. Thousand Days Of Yesterdays (Intro)
7. Frozen Over
8. Thousand Days Of Yesterdays (Time Since Came And Gone)
9. I Can't Feel Nothin' (Part 1)
10. As The Moon Speaks (To The Waves Of The Sea)
11. Astral Lady
12. As The Moon Speaks (Return)
13. I Can't Feel Nothin' (Part II)
14. Sufficiently Breathless
15. Bright Blue Tango
16. Drifting In Space
17. Evil Men
18. Starglow Energy
19. Distant Sun
20. Voyages Of Past Travelers
21. Everything's A Circle

Release Date: 05 October 2009
Catalogue No: RVCD307