Charlie Parker - Bird In Time 1940-1947 (Music CD)

Release Date: 17 November 2008
£41.79 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £2.19
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £2.99
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £2.99
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £3.99
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £3.99
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £4.99
Others - £6.99
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

After Louis Armstrong, probably the best-known and most influential jazz icon is Charlie Parker. In the mid-1940s, Parker was one of the prime movers of the then-controversial style known as bebop--his approach took in influences from the blues and the era's modern classical music, and set the music world on its ear. A four-disc set, BIRD IN TIME is arguably one of the most complete documents of Parker's early career, from playing in big bands (Cootie Williams, Earl Hines) to the groundbreaking small-group recordings with Dizzy Gillespie and Milt Jackson. TIME collects material from a variety of sources--radio broadcasts, studio sessions, and recordings made by amateur collectors--plus, there are assorted short interview segments scattered throughout. This set also includes two booklets of tremendously detailed liner notes, providing a peek at Parker the human being as well as at the social milieu of the 1940s.
Release Date: 17 November 2008

1. Variations Honeysuckle Rose/Body And Soul
2. I Got Rhythm
3. I Found A New Baby
4. Body And Soul
5. Moten Swing
6. Coquette
7. Oh Lady Be Good
8. Wichita Blues
9. Honeysuckle Rose
10. Cherokee
11. St. Louis Mood
12. I Got It Bad
13. I'm Forever Blowing Bubbles
14. Hootie Blues
15. Swingmatism
16. Theme Love Don't Get You Nothin'
17. Cherokee
18. My Heart Tells Me
19. I Found A New Baby
20. Body And Soul #2
21. Sweet Georgia Brown
22. I Got Rhythm
23. China Boy
24. Boogie Woogie
25. Shoe Shine Swing
26. Body And Soul #3
27. Embraceable You
28. Bottle It
29. Sweet Georgia Brown
30. Wrap Your Troubles In Dreams
31. Say Forward I'll March
32. Lonely Boy Blues
33. Vine Street Boogie
34. Jumpin' The Blues
35. Theme One O'Clock Jump
36. That's The Blues
37. Theme Round Midnight
38. 711
39. Do Nothin' Till You Hear From Me
40. Don't Blame Me
41. Perdido
42. Night Cap
43. Saturday Night
44. Floogie Boo
45. St. Louis Blues
46. Sweet Georgia Brown #2
47. Lover Come Back To Me
48. West Coast Music Scene Mid '40s
49. Intro
50. Shaw Nuff
51. M.C. Announcement Groovin' High
52. M.C. Announcement Dizzy Atmosphere
53. West Coast Music Scene Mid '40s
54. Salt Peanuts
55. Diggin' Diz
56. West Coast Club Scene #1
57. Bird Playing With Maggie
58. Jam Session Introduction
59. Tea For Two
60. Jam Session Medley Body And Soul
61. Jam Session Medley Cherokee
62. Maggie-Bird's First Dial Date
63. First Dial Session
64. Second Dial Session
65. Max Is Makin' Wax
66. Lover Man
67. Gypsy
68. Bebop
69. Second Dial Session - Cont.
70. After Bird's Collapse
71. Remembers Bird
72. Lullaby In Rhythm Pt. 1
73. Lullaby In Rhythm Pt. 2
74. Homecooking 1
75. Lullaby In Rhythm Pt. 3
76. Homecooking 2
77. Cherokee
78. Homecooking 3
79. I Got Rhythm
80. This Is Always/Dark Shadows Pt. 1
81. This Is Always
82. Dark Shadows
83. This Is Always/Dark Shadows Pt. 2
84. Hi-De-Ho Club 1947
85. Dee Dee's Dance
86. Maggie Playing At Fast Tempos
87. Maggie
88. Meeting Maggie
89. Introduction-Ko Ko
90. Hot House
91. Fine And Dandy
92. Intro-Koko
93. On The Sunny Side Of The Street
94. How Deep Is The Ocean
95. Tiger Rag
96. Theme 52nd Street Theme
97. Intro 52nd Street Theme
98. Donna Lee
99. Theme Koko
100. Gives His Gratitude

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: ESP4050