Coi Collection Vol.1 - Police And Thieves

Release Date: 15 February 2010 | Certificate: Exempt
£14.79 includes FREE UK Postage

RRP: £19.99. You Save: £5.20

Stock available, usually dispatched in 2-5 working days.

Established in 1946, the Central Office of Information (COI) was a successor to the wartime Ministry of Information and was responsible for producing thousands of films which celebrated Britain, its people and their achievements.

This first volume in the COI Collection explores the subjects of policing, crime, delinquency, and the justice system. A variety of styles and genres including story documentary, public information shorts and cinemagazines were employed to deliver crime prevention messages and bolster recruitment. Highlights include: Children on Trial (1946), an approved school drama set in a progressive and enlightened system; Youth Club (1954), which proposed a solution to keeping Britain s young people out of trouble; Help Yourself (1950), a nononsense crime prevention film; Man on the Beat (1956) and The British Policeman (1959), in which the local bobby comes armed with a friendly smile. Together, these films provide a wonderful record of British life in a seemingly more innocent age.


Companion Booklet

More Detail

Region 0
Sound: Dolby Digital
Running Time: 296 minutes
Main Language: English
Release Date: 15 February 2010
Certificate: E - Exempt from Certification

For more information about deliveries refer to our Delivery Policy.

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Standard Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £0.99
Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.99
Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Gibraltar, Hungary, Iceland, Latvia, Malta, Slovakia, Slovenia