Communards (The) - Communards (Music CD)

Release Date: 02 July 2012
£9.29 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

Despite the inability of the music to live up to the high standards of Jimmy Somerville's ridiculously skilled falsetto voice, the Communards' first album achieved platinum status in several countries. Somerville's spirited duet with Sarah Jane Morris on a cover of Thelma Houston's "Don't Leave Me This Way" helped push the record into the Top Ten on the U.K. charts, and a decent blend of other dancefloor fillers with Richard Coles-centric piano ballads lends variety for the ears that can't take a full album's worth of dance music. Both "Breadline Britain" and "Reprise" continue Somerville's activist ideals; the latter has to be one of the sharpest dissections of Margaret Thatcher. Compared to the following Red, much of the duo's self-titled debut sounds flat, lacking punch -- all the more surprising from a Mike Thorne (Wire, Marc Almond) production. [The remastered version adds a lengthy mix of "Don't Leave Me This Way."] ~ Andy Kellman
Release Date: 02 July 2012

1. Don't Leave Me This Way
2. La Dolarosa
3. Disenchanted
4. Reprise
5. So Cold the Night
6. You Are My World
7. Lover Man
8. Don't Slip Away
9. Heavens Above
10. Forbidden Love
11. Breadline Britain
12. Disenchanted (Dance)
13. Judgement Day
14. Don't Leave Me This Way (Son of Gotham City Mix 1986/Bonus Track)
15. When the Walls Come Tumbling Down (Live/Bonus Track)
16. You Are My World (87' Single Version)
17. Don't Leave Me This Way (Son of Gotham City Mix)
18. So Cold the Night (Remixed Club Version)
19. Heavens Above (10" Version)
20. Johnny Verso
21. Sentimental Journey
22. The Message
23. Disenchanted (Instrumental)
24. So Cold the Night (Instrumental)
25. Never No More
26. Sanctified
27. When the Walls Come Tumbling Down
28. The Multimix: Don't Leave Me/So Cold the Night/Disenchanted
29. Annie

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: EDSK7009