Deacon Blue - When the World Knows Your Name (Music CD)

Release Date: 15 October 2012
Artist: Deacon Blue
£15.39 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

Their name may come from a Steely Dan song, but, as far as their musical makeup goes, Deacon Blue owes a lot more to Simple Minds and Prefab Sprout than the Dan. On When the World Knows Your Name, the band blends AOR, Celtic flourishes, and dashes of blue-eyed soul to create a polished album that, while it won't make any "best-of" lists in a hurry, has more than a few pleasures to offer nevertheless. Deacon Blue isn't on the mark all the time. They have their failings, notably a tendency to get overly precious and self-indulgent when trying too hard to be impressionistic on the slower songs toward album's end. But when they get it right, like on "Queen of the New Year," "Wages Day," "Real Gone Kid," and "Fergus Sings the Blues," their driving melodies and hooks are fine compensation. Ricky Ross' songwriting is accomplished enough when he's not striving too hard for poetic effect: his word-picture evocations of light and shade are particularly impressive. The material is mostly strong, if not uniformly so; the playing is rather more consistently focused and energetic. If Deacon Blue gets the balance right, and plays to their strengths, they could be rather more than the minor-league U2 they come off as on this album. ~ Leslie Mathew
Release Date: 15 October 2012
Artist: Deacon Blue

1. Queen of the New Year
2. Wages Day
3. Real Gone Kid
4. Love and Regret
5. Circus Lights
6. This Changing Light
7. Sad Loved Girl
8. Fergus Sings the Blues
9. The World Is Lit By Lightning
10. Silhouette
11. One Hundred Things
12. Your Constant Heart
13. Orphans
14. Real Gone Kid (Extended 12” Version Bonus Track)
15. Little Lincoln (Bonus Track)
16. Born Again (Bonus Track)
17. It’s Not Funny Anymore (Bonus Track)
18. Wages Day (Extended 12” Version Bonus Track)
19. Take Me to the Place (Bonus Track)
20. Take the Saints Away (Bonus Track)
21. Trampoline
22. Fergus Sings the Blues (Extended 12” Version)
23. Long Window to Love
24. London A-Z
25. Back Here in Beanoland
26. Love and Regret (Extended 12” Version)
27. Down in the Flood
28. Undeveloped Heart
29. Love and Regret/It’s All in the Game (Live)
30. Spanish Moon/Down in the Flood (Live)
31. Dark End of the Street (Live)
32. When Will You (Make My Telephone Ring)? (Live)
33. Down in the Flood (Minimal Mix/Remix)
34. Queen of the New Year (Extended 12” Version)
35. My America
36. Las Vegas
37. Sad Loved Girl (Long Version)
38. Circus Light (Acoustic Version)
39. Queen of the New Year (Live)
40. Chocolate Girl (Live)
41. Undeveloped Heart (Live)
42. Town to Be Blamed (Live)
43. Love You Say
44. Let Your Hearts Be Troubled
45. Is It Cold Beneath the Hill?
46. Killing the Blues
47. Gentle Teardrops
48. That Country
49. Christine
50. Real Gone Kid (Version 1 Video)
51. Real Gone Kid (Version 2 Video)
52. Wages Day (Video)
53. Fergus Sings the Blues (Video)
54. Love and Regret (Video)
55. Queen of the New Year (Video)

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: EDSJ9003