Django Reinhardt - Swing Sessions Vol.1, The (Music CD)

Release Date: 28 September 2009
£12.49 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

The Swing Sessions, Vol. 1 features the first recordings Reinhardt made for Swing in 1937. The Swing label was formed in 1937 by Charles Delaunay and Jean Berard with the idea to "record good, unadulterated jazz," a goal at which they succeeded. The arrangements vary quite a bit from Reinhardt's Quintet of the Hot Club of France recordings. On the first ten cuts, the guitarist supplies an underpinning of rhythm for Coleman Hawkins & His All Star Jam Band and Dicky Wells & His Orchestra, respectively. A number of other cuts find Reinhardt in smaller duo, trio, and quartet settings. While all the material is first rate, the smaller settings allow Reinhardt's guitar to play a more prominent and perhaps more interesting role. Guitarist Louis Gaste and bassist Eugene d' Hellemmes provide Reinhardt with something like a stripped-down Hot Club backing for vibrant takes on "Saint Louis Blues" and "Bouncing Around." Reinhardt in turn provides backing for violinist Eddie South on "Eddie's Blues" and "Sweet Georgia Brown," then backs Stephane Grappelli on "I've Found a New Baby." There's a fabulous version of "Oh! Lady Be Good" with three violinists, and driven versions of "Charleston" and "Chicago" by the Quintet of the Hot Club of France. Historically, The Swing Sessions, Vol. 1 offers another look at the sheer breadth of Reinhardt's work in 1937, as well as the birth of the first record label devoted exclusively to jazz. Musically, the album delivers 75 minutes of beautifully conceived and executed sessions. ~ Ronnie D. Lankford, Jr.
Release Date: 28 September 2009

1. Honeysuckle Rose
2. Crazy Rhythm
3. Out Of Nowhere
4. Sweet Georgia Brown
5. Bugle Call Rag
6. Between The Devil & The Deep Blue Sea
7. I Got Rhythm
8. Sweet Sue
9. Hangin' Around Boudon
10. Japanese Sandman
11. Pennies From Heaven
12. Tiger Rag
13. Whoa Babe
14. P.B. Flat Blues
15. Saint Louis Blues
16. Bouncin' Around
17. Eddie's Blues
18. Sweet Georgia Brown
19. Oh Lady Be Good
20. Dinah
21. Daphne
22. You Took Advantage Of Me
23. I've Found A New Baby
24. Charleston
25. Chicago
26. Alabamy Bound

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: DGF50