Dntel - Life Is Full of Possibilities (Deluxe Edition) [Remastered] (Music CD)

Release Date: 24 October 2011
Artist: Dntel
£11.29 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
New Zealand / Far East Asia - £1.69
Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

Available 2-3 extra days

Housed behind an entirely appropriate title, the debut album of Dntel (aka Jimmy Tamborello) is a gorgeous, mostly ambient journey into moody, poetic electronic sounds. One imagines these ten songs would make for a delightful, if feverish, score to a kaleidoscopic dream. Though Life Is Full of Possibilities is centered on somewhat standard clicks & cuts, textured sound washes, and cut-and-paste electronic dynamics, Dntel's music contains such pristine melodies and is so effective in its stimulation of one's emotions that it makes for a refreshing, fascinating hour. It's the kind of music Kevin Shields has been threatening to unleash since the collapse of My Bloody Valentine. Dntel is aided more than a bit by his guest vocalists/lyricists, who include Chris Gunst from Beachwood Sparks, Rachel Haden of the defunct That Dog, Benjamin Gibbard of Death Cab for Cutie, and Brian McMahan from Slint and The for Carnation, among others. When Dntel is at his best, he brings to mind some of the finest European sound collagists, chief among them Múm. Indeed, "Suddenly Is Sooner Than You Think" and "The Dream of Evan and Chan" bear an uncanny resemblance to the superb songs on Múm's Yesterday Was Dramatic, Today Is Okay. Gibbard's vocals on "The Dream of Evan and Chan" blend with the Múm-like overtones so perfectly that the song is easily one of the mostly touching and beautiful sonic creations of the year. Pretty, brittle, subtle, full of surprises, and disarming in its ability to set moods, Life Is Full of Possibilities is a masterpiece that places Dntel near the top of the heap of electronic artists working in 2001. ~ Tim DiGravina

More Detail

1. Umbrella
2. Anywhere Anyone
3. Pillowcase
4. Fear of Corners
5. Suddenly is Sooner Than You Think
6. Life is Full of Possibilities
7. Why I'm So Unhappy
8. Fireworks
9. (This is) the Dream of Evan and Chan
10. Last Songs
11. (This is) the Dream of Evan and Chan (Safety Scissors Spilled My Drink Mix/Remix)
12. (This is) the Dream of Evan and Chan (Barbara Morgenstern Remix)
13. (This is) the Dream of Evan and Chan (Superpitcher Kompakt Remix)
14. (This is) the Dream of Evan and Chan (Lali Puna Remix)
15. Your Hill
16. This is How It Will Be All Over
17. Anywhere Anyone (Nobody Remix)
18. Umbrella (Version 1)
19. Footprints
20. Last Songs (Vocal Version)
21. Sorry_
22. Anywhere Anyone (Silent Servant & Regis Sandwell District Mix/Remix)
23. Anywhere Anyone (Pearson Sound Beatless Reduction/Remix)

Release Date: 24 October 2011
Artist: Dntel
Catalogue No: SPCD955