Dodheimsgard - Supervillain Outcast (Music CD)

Release Date: 26 March 2012
Artist: Dodheimsgard
£9.29 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

Available 2-3 extra days

Eight years after their last release, 666 International, set a few new standards for combining black metal with industrial techniques, Norway's Dodheimsgard (which loosely translates to "Mansion of Death") finally ended their unexpectedly long vacation with 2007's Supervillain Outcast. And here, again, the eccentric quartet goes to great lengths in their attempts to bend, twist, and distort the accepted boundaries separating those two genres, boldly framing their tortured howling and jagged guitar riffing with superhuman barrages of computerized drums and all manner of electronic noises and effects. Like fast-frame anime audio, instead of visuals, the end results often sound forced and unnatural; jarring, synthetic and claustrophobic, as though rendered in by a half-human, half-cyborg -- but then, that seems to be Dodheimsgard's goal, exactly! Somewhat easier to digest are more deliberate tracks such as "Foe x Foe," "Apocalypticism," and the positively stunning finale of "21st Century Devil"; all of which at least feign accessibility, camouflaged behind relatively linear progressions and more repetitious digital or vocal hooks. Even so, there's really no easy entry into Dodheimsgard's parallel multi-verse (lest you think that haunting, unaccompanied vocal interludes like "Secret Identity," "Chrome Balaclava," and "Cellar Door" might qualify), and it goes without saying that analog enthusiasts simply won't be into any of it. On the other hand, industrial music could very well benefit from Supervillain Outcast's considerable shock to the system. ~ Eduardo Rivadavia
Release Date: 26 March 2012
Artist: Dodheimsgard
  • Disk 1
  • 1. Dushman
  • 2. Vendetta Assassin
  • 3. The Snuff Dreams Are Made Of
  • 4. Horrorizon
  • 5. Foe X Foe
  • 6. Secret Identity
  • 7. The Vile Delinquents
  • 8. Unaltered Beast
  • 9. Apocalypticism
  • 10. Chrome Balaclava
  • 11. Ghostforce Soul Constrictor
  • 12. All Is Not Self
  • 13. Supervillain Serum
  • 14. Cellar Door
  • 15. 21st Century Devil
  • Disk 2
  • 1. Senseoffender
  • 2. Personality Transplant
  • 3. Teenanger
  • 4. Deception Enemy
  • 5. Satanatomic Evolution
  • 6. Slave 66
  • 7. Addicted to Perdition

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: CDVILED327X