Don McLean - Prime Time/Chain Lightning/Believers (Music CD)

Release Date: 06 October 2008
Artist: Don McLean
£7.29 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

This British two-fer combines the contents of Don McLean's seventh, eighth, and ninth albums, Prime Time (originally released in October 1977), Chain Lightning (initially released internationally in December 1978, but not in the U.S. until January 1981), and Believers (October 1981). (Each of these albums was reissued on CD in the U.S. in 1997 by Hip-O Records with an added bonus track, and those tracks, the McLean original "If You Can Dream" and covers of Gordon Lightfoot's "If You Could Read My Mind" and Bobby Darin's "Dream Lover," are included here.) Well past his early-'70s commercial breakthrough with "American Pie" and "Vincent," McLean in the late '70s and early '80s was an assured writer and performer with an eclectic taste in musical styles, as willing to cover an old favorite as to write a new song. The American hits that emerged from these sessions included covers of Roy Orbison's "Crying" and the Skyliners' "Since I Don't Have You," as well as McLean's remake of his own "Castles in the Air." McLean named each album after an ambitious title song that examined the world critically in social ("Prime Time"), romantic ("Chain Lightning"), or philosophical ("Believers") terms, but filled the rest of the LPs with love songs often set to pop-country arrangements and covers of oldies rendered affectionately, if sometimes a little too carefully. Throughout, he stuck to a world view developed on his earlier albums, with a downcast, nearly Biblical attitude toward present times and a sense of warm nostalgia for the musical past of his teens, as romantic love offered the possibility of refuge from the crass commercialism, greed, and pollution of contemporary life. And he always maintained a practically curatorial sense of taste and craft, making these albums highly listenable decades after they first appeared. ~ William Ruhlmann
Release Date: 06 October 2008
Artist: Don McLean

1. Prime Time
2. Statue
3. Jump
4. Redwing
5. Wrong Thing To Do
6. Pattern Is Broken
7. When Love Begins
8. Color TV Blues
9. Building My Body
10. Down The Road/Sally Ann
11. South Of The Border
12. If You Can Dream
13. Words And Music
14. Crying
15. It's Just The Sun
16. Lotta Lovin'
17. Chain Lightning
18. Your Cheating Heart
19. Wonderful Night
20. It Doesn't Matter Anymore
21. Since I Don't Have You
22. Genesis (In The Beginning)
23. It's A Beautiful Lie
24. If You Could Read My Mind
25. Castles In The Air
26. Isn't It Strange
27. Left For Dead On The Road Of Love
28. Believers
29. Sea Man
30. I Tune The World Out
31. Love Hurts
32. Jerusalem
33. Love Letters
34. Crazy Eyes
35. Sea Cruise
36. Dream Lover

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: EDSD2024