Elbow - Leaders of the Free World (+DVD)

Release Date: 12 March 2012
Artist: Elbow
£14.59 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

Available 2-3 extra days

When Doves headed to the studio for the recording of their third album, 2005's Some Cities, they returned home to Manchester. With that kind of scenic inspiration and emotional attachment, Some Cities resulted in Doves' best of their career at that moment. It is mere coincidence that their musical mates, Elbow, have done the same for their third album, Leaders of the Free World. Such a coincidence is a bit comforting in the respect that Elbow do not stray from what they have previously done. Despite being cast as a gloomy bunch on their first two albums -- 2001's Asleep in the Back and 2004's Cast of Thousands -- Elbow trudge on as an emotional band. Singer/songwriter Guy Garvey doesn't wallow in failed relationships as much as he enjoys being cynical and playful about the world around him. Sure, Elbow's more melodic, pensive moments such as "The Stops" and "The Everthere" are classic heartbreakers, with piano-driven melodies lush in melancholic acoustic guitars and Garvey's somber disposition. Leaders of the Free World really comes to life when Elbow give in, allowing these songs to grow into something glorious. Album opener "Station Approach" and "Forget Myself" are brilliant examples of this. "Forget Myself" metaphorically points fingers at a media-obsessed culture that is equally blasé about its own issues. Garvey throws his hands in the air, sighing to himself to "look for a plot where I can bury my broken heart." The album's title track also criticizes a very questionable political system, demanding, "I need to see the Commander in Chief and remind what was passed on to me" as a storm of electric guitars mirrors an anxious, waxing delivery by the band itself -- "Passing the gun from father to feckless son, we're climbing a landslide where only the good die young." Elbow are a great band regardless of what it takes for them to find their footing. Leaders of the Free World is a bit more rock & roll than not, with guts and heart, because Elbow have finally embraced their powerful, surrounding space this time out. ~ MacKenzie Wilson
Release Date: 12 March 2012
Artist: Elbow

1. Station Approach
2. Picky Bugger
3. Forgot Myself
4. The Stops
5. Leaders of the Free World
6. An Imagined Affair
7. Mexican Standoff
8. The Everthere
9. My Very Best
10. Great Expectations
11. Puncture Repair
12. Intro To “Strangeways To Holcombe Hill In Four Minutes and Twenty Seconds”
13. Station Approach (Live From Manchester Apollo)
14. Picky Bugger (Colin Murray Session)
15. Forget Myself (Mark Radcliffe Session)
16. The Stops (Janice Long Session)
17. Leaders of the Free World (Live From Manchester Apollo)
18. McGreggor (Live From Somerset House)
19. Great Expectations (Live From London O2 Arena)
20. Mexican Standoff (Live From Somerset House)
21. The Good Day (Live From Somerset House)
22. Puncture Repair (Live From London O2 Arena)
23. Station Approach
24. Picky Bugger
25. Forget Myself
26. The Stops
27. Leaders of the Free World
28. An Imagined Affair
29. Mexican Standoff
30. The Everthere
31. My Very Best
32. Great Expectations
33. Puncture Repair

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: 2777879