Everything But the Girl - Baby, the Stars Shine Bright (Music CD)

Release Date: 28 May 2012
£9.29 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

On their third album, Baby, the Stars Shine Bright, Everything But the Girl tries another departure on their craftsmanlike ballad style, hiring a full orchestra to give a lush backing to songs usually concerned more with sexual than national politics. Their last album, Love Not Money, may have boasted a considerable social agenda, but here Tracey Thorn sings of romantic disappointment and illicit liaisons, only occasionally bowing to such favorite themes as the lure of fame ("Country Mile"), fantasies about American movie stars ("Sugar Finney," which is "for Marilyn Monroe," and has the chorus, "America is free, cheap and easy"), and fears of fascism ("Little Hitler"). Thorn's throbbing voice is well-suited to the emotional concerns of the lyrics, and Ben Watt creates attractive, string- and horn-filled backings for them. So, Everything But the Girl has found yet another way to effectively vary what would have seemed to be a limited musical style. ~ William Ruhlmann
Release Date: 28 May 2012

1. Come On Home
2. Don't Leave Me Behind
3. A Country Mile
4. Cross My Heart
5. Don't Let the Teardrops Rust Your Shining Heart
6. Careless
7. Sugar Finney
8. Come Hell or High Water
9. Fighting Talk
10. Little Hitler
11. Come On Home (Extended Mix)
12. Draining the Bar
13. I Fall To Pieces
14. Come On Home (Acoustic Version)
15. Alfie
16. Where's the Playground Susie?
17. Almost Blue
18. Come On Home (Home Demo)
19. Sugar Finney (Home Demo)
20. Carless (Home Demo)
21. Cross My Heart (Home Demo)
22. Little Hitler (Home Demo)

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: EDSK7006