Franck Avitabile - Right Time (Music CD)

Release Date: 23 January 2012
£9.09 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

Franck Avitabile continues to grow as a pianist with his second Dreyfus release. An earlier CD was produced by the late pianist Michel Petrucciani, who obviously saw this newcomer as one filled with promise. Although Petrucciani died just prior to the taping of these sessions, he is obviously present in the spirit of Avitabile's playing. Joined by veteran first-call bassist Niels Pedersen and drummer Roberto Gatto, the pianist starts off with an attractive original jazz waltz, "Miss Laurence." He follows it up with a well disguised and somewhat dark introduction to Dave Brubeck's normally joyful "In Your Own Sweet Way"; his journey through this often recorded jazz standard is also atypical. He also avoids predictability with his intriguing chart of Dizzy Gillespie's "Con Alma" and the venerable standard "Cherokee." His "Right Time!" is a smoking bop number that features Pedersen's tremendous solo chops, while "Song for Evan" is a touching ballad that has an almost reverent quality. Louis Petrucciani, Michel's brother, takes over for Pedersen on his own soulful "Blues for the Stars" and the leader's samba-flavored "Facin' Up." Highly recommended. ~ Ken Dryden
Release Date: 23 January 2012

1. Miss Laurence
2. In Your Own Sweet Way
3. Facin' Up
4. Right Time !
5. Song For Evan
6. Con Alma
7. Cherokee
8. Little Valse
9. Blues From the Stars

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: FDM366082